How to Make Your Own Shortcut on Your iPhone or iPad

When you send text messages, there are probably a few phrases that you use a lot. By making your own shortcut, you can tap only a few keys and your phrase will appear in its entirety.

Instead of typing “meet you in 10 mins”, you could shorten it to “my” or “mt10″.

Instead of typing “love you” you could shorten it to “ly”

Instead of typing your long name, “Reginald Fingersandtoes”, you can just type “rf”.

You get the idea.

This is extremely handy if you use a particular phrase often.

Here is how you make your own shortcuts:

Go to Settings > General > Keyboard.

Once you are on the Keyboard screen, slide down to Shortcuts and tap on “Add New Shortcut”

Now you will see a screen where you will have to fill in two spots: Phrase (the phrase that you would like to be typed out) and Shortcut (the few letters that you want to use as a shortcut).

For my example, I want to make a shortcut for “thank you”. (I’m polite, and I use ‘thank you’ a lot :) )

Enter in whatever phrase that you want to shorten and the combination of letters that you want to use as a shortcut. I chose to type “thx” when I want my phone to write “thank you.”

Tap “Save”.

That’s all there is.

Once I have made my shortcut, whenever I type “thx”, the words “thank you” will appear, just like an auto-correction.

When the day comes that you want to delete your shortcut, just swipe the shortcut to the left and a “delete” button will appear. Tap that, and your shortcut will disappear.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I like shortcuts, I still learn, and your post is a valuable show how. Thanks for sharing! George.

    Reply
    • Thanks so much, George. It feels so good to know that I helped someone. :) and …. FYI … I tried to leave a comment about your Pelican diving but the comment button on your blog wouldn’t work for me. Don’t know why. I’ll try again, later.

      Reply
      • I wouldn’t know, either, thanks for letting me know! Was it on one of the photos in the gallery, or on the main post?

        Reply
  2. I think my first shortcut would be NCN – need coffee now! which is really code for ‘you’re so not going to believe what I have to tell you’ or ‘if I don’t leave my desk now I’m going to kill someone’. And I couldn’t help myself – after readig this I had to Google Reginald Fingersandtoes just in case I was missing something. ..

    Reply
  3. Chancy and Mumsy

     /  July 30, 2012

    That is pretty cool that you can do that.

    Reply
  4. I love abbreviations. ;-)

    Reply

I'd love to hear what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 784 other followers

