Emoticons in iOS6 and How to Access Them

I enjoy emoticons. And iOS6 has added quite a few new ones for our emoting-pleasure.

Emoticons are not a new feature of iOS6, but in iOS6 many more have been added.

So for those people who are enjoying their first iPhone, or who have just upgraded from an earlier model, this post will either alert you that you now have a host of newly added emoticons, or show you how to get to them in the first place.

I previously wrote about accessing your emoticons, here. But for the sake of the continuity of this post, I’ll refresh those directions today.

Go to Settings > General > Keyboard > International Keyboards > Add a New Keyboard > Emoji

And now, when you go back to your keyboard to type a note, an email, or a text message, you will see a globe in the lower left corner.

Tap the globe and the emoticons will appear for you to browse through. Tap any emoticon and it will appear in your message.

You’ll notice 5 symbols to choose from across the bottom, and each of these will take you deeper into pages of symbols, faces, fruit, people, animals and more.

Here are some sample clips of the emoticon choices. It looks like there is MORE of everything. More faces, more animals, more fruit, more flowers and more symbols. Old is mixed in with the new. Cats are new, “See No Evil * Hear No Evil * Speak No Evil” Monkeys are new, phases of the moon are new, along with a host of other bits of this and that.

When you have selected your emoticon, just tap the globe once again, and you will be returned to the standard keyboard.

Note: Apple tells us that “When sending emoji to non-iOS devices (other mobile phones, computers, or applications), the emoji may not appear as expected.” I experimented by sending some emoticons in an email to a friend who read the email on a non-iOS computer and she did not see any emoticons. So be aware that “may not appear as expected” also means “may not appear at all”.

Next Post
Leave a comment

24 Comments

  1. Thanks very much for that info. I missed the emotes so glad to have them back :-)

    Reply
  2. Nice, I love this!

    Reply
  3. Adorable kitty & monkey pics! Thanks for sharing! :)

    Reply
  4. I have seen them sent to me and are fun but I have a simple phone. But thanks for the information – now I know!

    Reply
  5. šŸ˜ŠIt works!

    Reply
  6. Very helpful! Thanks.

    Reply
  7. Anonymous

     /  November 25, 2012

    I’ve got ipad 3 and iPhone 4 but the emoticons doesn’t show up when I used it to my facebook status or comments. But if I used it to Facebook chat it was alright. Any idea?

    Reply
    • I don’t know for sure …. BUT …. my understanding is that the emoticons work only between Apple devices, so I’m guessing that once you get out into the Facebook world they won’t work. The key point being “between Apple devices”. So if you chat with someone also using an Apple-something, they will see you emoticons.

      Reply
  8. Did it! Yeah!!

    Reply
  9. Love the display of emoticons, great blog

    Reply
  10. Vanessa

     /  March 18, 2013

    I have iPhone 5 & ipad 3. After inserting the emoticon in Facebook comment, going out then coming back into Facebook the emoticon is not showing. Why is this?

    Reply
    • I never joined Facebook, so I cannot give you a ‘for sure’ answer, but my guess is that it probably has something to do with the fact that these emoticons are only to be used/seen among iOS devices. If you insert the emoticon in an email for example and the receiver is on an iPad, he will see it, but if he looks via a Blackberry, he will not.

      Reply

I'd love to hear what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 655 other followers

