Sexting and …….. Cows (actually, that should read: Sexting FROM Cows)

photo credit: publicenergy via photopin cc

According to Wikipedia:

“Sexting is the act of sending sexually explicit messages or photographs, primarily between mobile phones.”

In Switzerland, some serious sexting is going on.

Cows are sending these “come hither” text messages to their farmers.

Yes, you read that right.

The farmers are getting text messages from their cows.

Apparently, it’s not that easy to tell when a cow is in heat. Several professors at a college in Bern have developed a special device to help the farmers know when the time is right. This device is implanted in the cow and can detect subtle changes that signify when the cow goes into reproductive mode. And when the critical time occurs…… the farmer receives a text message that Bessie (or whoever) is in heat. Success rate is about 90%.

The device is still in its testing stage, but it is expected to be on the market as early as next year.

If you are interested in exactly why it is important for a farmer to determine if a cow is in an amorous mood, you can learn all about it, here.

Leave a comment

45 Comments

  1. Dirty cow LOL

    Reply
  2. I just heard about this as well…love that you shared it! Thanks for the giggle! :)

    Reply
  3. This is hysterical. ;-)

    Reply
  4. the things one learns!

    Reply
  5. Renee Spindle

     /  October 14, 2012

    Ha-who knew?

    Reply
  6. Ooooh, I risque little post :) I have to say, just when I thought I’d heard it all, they come up with a moo-making device.

    Reply
  7. Funny for us, but serious business for the farmers!
    Thanks for the laugh – I must re-blog this one.

    Reply
    • You’re right … as funny as it sounds to us, I’m sure this is very serious for the farmers! Thanks so much for the re-blog! Honored, I am! :)

      Reply
  8. Reblogged this on Passionate About Pets and commented:
    Sexting from . . . . Cows

    Reply
  9. MOoooooooooooooooooooooooo.

    Reply
  10. So interesting! Cows sexting…what will be next? Moo….Moo! LOL! :)

    Reply
  11. My Dad would have got a kick out of this report!

    Reply
  12. Hey!! I have nominated you for the Beautiful Blogger award… Please check this link for further details!!

    http://hearingwiththeeye.wordpress.com/2012/10/15/one-more/

    Cheers,
    Sumithra.

    Reply
    • Thank you so much!!! I am honored. Since I have received this Award before, I’m going to put your name/blog as a permanent link next to this Award on my Award page. Thank you very much. I do appreciate it! :)

      Reply
  13. Hahahaha…love that picture!!! Totally hilarious!

    Reply
    • Oh, thank you for enjoying my picture choice. I thought it “suited” the topic, well. :) And thanks so much for the visit and taking the time to leave a comment!! :)

      Reply
  14. Quite funny indeed! What next?

    Reply
  15. Oh, I can see it all now:

    Farmer Jones checks his messages:

    “Hey, u in overalls and hat. I’z feel pretty gud heer. See big boy in next pastcher? Hubba hubba. Send over quik! Moove it, moove it.

    P. S. Eat more chikin!.

    Reply
  16. You can run, but you can’t hide with this electronic ankle bracelet – things are heating up.

    Reply
    • Oh, my goodness! Another monitor to check on cows. It must be terribly important! This looks less intrusive than the kind I mentioned in the blog post. I think if I was a cow, I’d go with your ankle bracelet. :)

      Reply
  17. What will they think of next? This is already a bit OTT and TMI..

    Reply
  18. Brilliant eventhough I won’t be getting the app !!

    Reply
  19. hahaha This is the perfect app for our area. We have more cows in our county than people! What a great article. – and title!

    Reply
  20. Funny and fascinating! It does make sense though. :)

    Reply
  1. Is Sexting Okay? | The Guilty Good Girl
  2. Why Sext? | Nouveau Dating Solutions

I'd love to hear what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 782 other followers

