The Moth: A Podcast All About “Living Life”

I love podcasts. I am subscribed to about a dozen, and I could easily subscribe to dozens more (only Time stands in the way). There are so many awesome choices.

For new readers, I’d like to refer you back to two earlier posts, to read about podcasts, and the podcast app, and where I happily recommend one of my all time favorites, A Way With Words.

Today I’m highlighting another of my regularly-listened-to podcasts, The Moth.

If you enjoy stories, if you like to read, if you like to write, if you enjoy people, if you are interested in ….. Life, well then, it’s a no-brainer. You will enjoy The Moth.

I think the best way to describe The Moth to you is to paste the following description directly from their website:

“It is brilliant and quietly addictive” – The London Guardian

“New York’s hottest and hippest literary ticket” – The Wall Street Journal

The Moth is an acclaimed not-for-profit organization dedicated to the art and craft of storytelling. It is a celebration of both the raconteur, who breathes fire into true tales of ordinary life, and the storytelling novice, who has lived through something extraordinary and yearns to share it. At the center of each performance is, of course, the story – and The Moth’s directors work with each storyteller to find, shape and present it.

Basically it is people telling stories in front of a live audience.

I’ve been listening for a long, long time, and the variety of stories is astounding. Some stories are burned into my brain forever, while others were funny, or heart wrenching, or silly, or fascinating, or downright awe-inspiring. And, to be very honest, some have been not-so-good. But the majority are. Good. Great, even.

There are a few stories on their website (just click on “stories”), so you can sample some efforts such as a child-stutterer who learned to speak to animals, a carpenter who nearly died and then found a reason to stay in NYC, and a few others.

With a podcast subscription, you get a new story (usually about 10 minutes long) every week or so, and a look at life from a multitude of varied perspectives.

A subscription to The Moth is free and available through the iTunes store, and you can also search for it and then subscribe directly from the Podcast App.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I listened to the “Small Town Prisoner” and it was excellent!! Thank you so much for this information!! :D

    Reply
  2. This is a podcast that I should like, but I’ve had a hard time getting into it. Maybe it’s because Ira Glass borrows heavily from it for This American Life – there is usually a Moth excerpt in about every 5th episode or so. I might give it a try again though. I do need to check out your other recommended favorite- A Way with Words.

    Reply
    • You are so right. I never really thought about it before but a lot of material is taken from the Moth for This American Life. As I said in my post there is a lot of variety on the Moth, sometimes great, sometimes not so great. But I enjoy them all and value them for their own uniqueness.

      Reply
  3. They sound amazing… I always find real life more incredible than fiction!!!

    Reply

I'd love to hear what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 783 other followers

