How to Use Your New Google Map App

Screen shot 2012-12-13 at 8.06.15 AMI am so happy to have Google Maps back again.

This app is wonderful. Basically intuitive and chock full of features.

However, since many of my readers are relatively new to their gadgets, and I don’t want them (you?) missing out on all of the Google-map-goodness, this blog post will show a newbie how to use some of these features.

Photo Skitch Document-3When you first launch the app, make sure you agree to let Google Maps use your location. This way you’ll be able to use it, fully. Then, whenever you tap the little location arrow, (shown here on the right), the map will show you your current location. This is amazingly helpful to orient yourself as you wander in a city, walk on a trail, or countless other situations. It also enables the app to be able to give you directions to wherever you are going from wherever you are.

Now let’s look at somewhere you plan to go. For an example, I typed “Columbus Circle” in the search box at the top, and you can see the map whooshed me right over to Columbus Circle in New York City. (Notice in the bottom right hand corner it is also telling me how long it will take me to drive there from my house.)

Of course you can zoom in and zoom out, but we are going to look at a few other features. Tap on the little tab of dots, over on the right side of the screen.

Photo Skitch Document-2

When you tap on those little dots, a screen will pop out from the side, offering you several options: Traffic, Public Transit, Satellite and Google Earth.

Photo Skitch Document-4

Just tap on Traffic for (wait for it…) Traffic :)! Simple but effective, red lines indicating a jam. This has been helpful for me more than once. I remember we almost got off a highway in an unfamiliar location, but by looking at the “traffic” part of the Google Maps, I was able to see that the jam-up stopped just another mile or so ahead, so we stayed on the highway.

Tap on Public Transit for public transportation information. This feature does not work in all areas, but the app will tell you when it doesn’t work, so you don’t waste time trying to look up what can’t be done. But for city commuters, this feature is golden.

Satellite will change your map to the satellite view, and Google Earth will take you out of this app and open Google Earth.

Many people are excited about the return of Google Street View. Here is how you find Street View:

Search and find the location of your choice.

or

Touch and hold a location on the map.

Now, at the bottom of the page, touch the address bar that appears there, and slide your finger UP.

There is it! Tap on the street view photo, and it will enlarge and you will be able to look around, and walk the streets.

Photo Skitch Document-5

I tried Street View for a variety of locations, and I was usually successful. There were spots where I’ve seen Street View access before, and yet they didn’t show up for me, today. I don’t know why.

Other details will show up for businesses, such as reviews and links to websites.

A new feature is a voice turn-by-turn navigation. I have not had the opportunity to give this a test drive, but it certainly looks exciting.

To test it out, I typed in the name of our local mall, as if I wanted to go there.

Google Maps put a pin in it.

I tapped on the picture of the car (I want driving directions).

Several alternative routes popped up from the bottom of my screen, and I selected the road I’d like to use.

I was then presented with a map screen, with the word START in the bottom right hand corner. Giving START a tap, the voice directions began!

There are other things to explore in this app, as well, but this should be enough to get you started.

I’ve heard people say that they don’t need maps because they “know where they’re going.” Yes, but this is so much more than just a map, and it is really only through use that you will become familiar with all it has to offer. I suggest, if you are new to Google Maps, give it a try the next time you are a passenger in a car. Open the app, and tap the location arrow, and watch as the little blue dot (you) moves along on the map. Test out the traffic. This will begin to introduce you to all it can do. Don’t be afraid to tap around the app. It’s the best way to learn.

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I’m so pleased you are writing about something I actually have experienced…! :)
    I’ve taken many a ‘visual’ walk over the past couple of years, thanks to Google Maps.. It’s wonderful to actually ‘see’ the building you’re aiming for on that long trip, or to be able to see ‘the house’ you’re looking for in that strange suburb…
    Well done to you, Kathy; you’ve gone into a good deal of detail here: Surprise, surprise…! ;)
    I still think you’re a whiz…. :)

    Reply
    • I’m a big fan of street view, too. You’re so right….. for that long trip, you get to your destination and you are “familiar” with what you see. I’ve been able to point out a building to a cab driver as though I had been there, before. And thank you for the kind words. But I’m not a whiz, just an enthusiastic user of these gadgets. :)

      Reply
  2. As you say that you have used google maps successfully to look around South Africa, I think I shall now give it a go. I had always, previously, thought it would be great in Europe or America but not here. However, try it I shall. Should be fun, except for the “draining the phone battery” part and probably a rather nasty internet usage shock at the end of the month :)

    Reply
    • Let me know how it goes for you. Honestly, the battery has not been an issue for me. I charge my phone every night. And if I need the phone navigation for a long car journey, I use a car charger to keep it ready. As for the data thing, I guess that depends on your plan. I have never even come close to using my allotted monthly data. But I have wireless in my house, and I never watch video on the phone, so that probably helps a lot. Good luck!

      Reply
  3. Have I told you lately how much I love your posts? :D

    Reply
  4. It’s just the best thing ever! Just yesterday I had to go and fetch someone from an area I really didn’t want to get lost in and know relatively well but the streets are quite windy and there are quite a few one ways, but it was as easy as 1, 2, 3 with Google maps. Recently I used street view to check out my sister’s route to work at her new job in Reading, UK.

    Reply
    • Because of my friendship with you and several other bloggers in South Africa, I’ve done a fair amount of street-view walking about Johannesburg. It is lots of fun to virtually visit! You’ll have to tell me if there are any specific places that I should walk around. :) So glad you are finding the app useful!

      Reply

I'd love to hear what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 735 other followers

