How to Gift an App from your iPhone or iPad

photo credit: Barbara.K via photopin cc

photo credit: Barbara.K via photopin cc

I recently wrote a post where I said that you could no longer gift an app directly from your iPhone or iPad.

How quickly things change. That’s old news.

A recent App Store update has now made it possible to gift directly from your iPhone or iPad.

It’s easy to do and very convenient.

Here is how to gift an app directly from your iPhone or iPad:

Tap on the App Store icon, and navigate to the app that you would like to send as a gift.

Once there, look up to the top of the screen for the Share arrow.

Tap on the Share arrow.

Photo Skitch Document-12

Tapping the Share arrow will bring up this pop-up box, with several ‘action’ choices in it.

Notice that one of the choices is “Gift”

Photo Skitch Document-13

Once you tap on “Gift”, you will be taken to a screen where you can type in your information: the email address of the receiver, and a message from you (if you like).

You can also choose a ‘date of delivery’ for up to 90 days in advance. You can time your gift to arrive in your receiver’s email inbox exactly on their birthday, on a holiday, or any other favorite occasion.

Pretty handy!

From Millan.Net

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. You are so clever to keep up with all these daily changing apps.

    Reply
    • I really felt silly with this one. Months ago, I did a similar post, then they changed it, so I had to do an ‘update’ with a new post, and then they changed it AGAIN, so I had to do it again. I don’t want to leave wrong information on my blog. I hope they stop, now. :)

      Reply
  2. Excellent. What they need now is a wishlist so your friends and family can see what you want as well.

    Reply
  3. Sounds too complicated for this old girl!

    Reply
  4. Thanks for all the great info. I’ve nominated you for the blog of the year award. http://mycruisestories.com/2012/12/21/2012-blog-of-the-year-award/

    Reply
  5. Love the WOW! You are so talented!! I’ve been thinking of you b/c I gifted myself a Kindle ~ thanks for all of your amazing posts! xo

    Reply
  6. Always learning lots from you. :)

    Reply
  7. Finally found a need for this and remembered your post. Thanks!

    Reply
    • I do that too! :) I don’t remember everything, and look back when I need to do something. Glad you remembered!

      Reply

I'd love to hear what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 743 other followers

