World Book Night Givers Notified!

Screen shot 2013-02-20 at 6.51.14 PM

To my delight, when I opened my emails this morning, I saw the one that I’ve been hoping to see:

“Dear World Book Night friend,

Congratulations! You are a 2013 World Book Night giver!”

Hurray! I’ve been selected as a giver for this year!

World Book Night is an absolutely amazing initiative. Publishers, authors, and a ba-zillion individuals and organizations have come together for this awesome project.

All the ‘givers’ will receive a box of 20 FREE books and then step out into the World on April 23 to share the love of reading and simply give the books away, one by one, person to person.

Tens of thousands of people participate all over the world. You can learn more about it from their website, here, or a previous blog post of mine, here.

I was honored to be part of the program last year and I am thrilled to have the opportunity, again.

I’m hoping that some of my blog readers applied for the program when I posted about it last November, and I have my fingers and toes crossed that you were also selected to be a giver.

It is a wonderful experience, sharing the love of reading.

The generosity, co-ordination and implementation of such a massive initiative is mind boggling.

World Book Night 2013 will be held on April 23.

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. Yes, I signed up after seeing your post and I too was selected! Your blog post was the first I’d heard of this amazing program and I am thrilled to now be a part of it! What a concept – giving away brand new books!

    After I’d signed up I think I told you that even if I wasn’t selected I would purchase 20 books and give them away anyway. Once I know more details I may decide to go ahead and do that anyway. If giving 20 books away is a thrill I imagine giving 40 books away will be downright orgasmic :) Okay. I just got carried away with myself.

    So, thank you for introducing me to this wonderful opportunity!!

    Reply
  2. What a cool idea! I somehow missed your November post, but I think this is just splendid! And I’m really happy you are getting to take part again. What a wonderful feeling it must give you to watch people’s faces light up over a free book. Tell us more about last year. Where did you go to give yours away? Anything especially interesting or fun happen?

    Reply
  3. What a wonderful idea. Missed your November post but just read it. I now know why you are so excited about it!!

    Reply
  4. Wow, Kathy; what a sensational idea…!
    Congratulations again…! You sure sound pleased, and I’m pleased for you too… :)

    Reply
  5. CONGRATULATIONS! A worthy cause.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Reply
  6. Dang! I missed that one somehow. I’m glad you’re glad. Read on! :-)

    Reply
  7. What a great idea… the internet world is such an off- beat imaginative place…Hope the other world takes notice of all these generous initiatives.

    Reply
    • Tens of thousands of people participate. It is amazing to me how the publishers, authors, and all those who usually collect $, donate their time and effort and product to make this amazing initiative work. Truly special.

      Reply
  8. I missed your post last year. I signed up for the newsletter so hopefully I can be chosen too for next year’s. :)

    Reply
  9. Congratulations! I look forward to reading about your experience.

    Reply
  10. Wonderful Congratulations! I got chosen too and looking forward to it. ;-)

    Reply
  11. Wonderful! I’m so pleased for you. Such an amazing program. :)

    Reply
  12. I think I signed up, but then forgot about it. I’m not sure, but I don’t think I was selected. I’ll have to check. I’m glad you posted a reminder. Good thing to remember to do!!! :)

    Reply

I'd love to hear what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 783 other followers

