Celebrate Dr Seuss’ Birthday with App Sales

Screen shot 2013-03-01 at 6.01.24 PMMarch 2 is the birthday of Theodor Geisel best known to the world as Dr. Seuss.

Dr. Seuss wrote and illustrated 44 children’s books. Fox in Socks was a favorite in our house, along with Dr. Seuss’ ABC, Hop on Pop, How the Grinch Stole Christmas and One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish.

(They really stick with you, don’t they? It’s been 25 years, and I think I can still recite these all by heart :) )

Oceanhouse media has put all their Dr. Seuss book apps on sale for this weekend for 30 – 75% off, and you can find the entire list, here. (Android apps are also on sale. Look in your favorite Android store for Oceanhouse Media, and these apps should be on sale there, as well.)

Screen shot 2013-03-01 at 6.51.01 PM

Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. Sam, I Am…I loved reading that one aloud! In fact, all of his books are more fun out loud, so it’s good to keep a kid around all the time, so you can read them often. :D

    Thanks for letting us know, SC!

    Reply
    • Oh, yes, Marcia. Read out loud they are great fun. ( They are not a ‘silent reading’ choice.) :) Yes, yes, I remember Sam, I Am. :)

      Reply
      • I should have said Green Eggs and Ham, of course, since that’s actually the name of the poem, but I always think of Sam I Am first. “And I would like them on a box, and I would like them with a fox…and I would like them on a chair, and I would like them anywhere…” Just saying those lines out loud makes me smile all over!

        Reply
        • Meant to add, “I do SO like green eggs and ham…thank you, thank you, Sam I Am!” That’s how I feel about your blog, you know. Thank you, thank you, ShareChair You Am. Hmmm. Doesn’t have quite the same ring to it, does it? But you get my drift, I’m sure.

          Reply
  2. Reblogged this on iOS Affairs and commented:
    I LOVE Dr. Seuss! My absolute favorite book (adult books included) is Oh, The Places You’ll Go! I give it to every graduate and anyone else I can think of as a gift. The pop-up version is fabulous! I also have many of the Dr. Seuss apps. The iTunes version of Oh, The Places You’ll Go is read by John Lithgow. It’s only 8 minutes long, but it’s an amazing 8 minutes. It’s my favorite read-to-me version of the book. I guess what I’m trying to say here is whatever you do today, make sure you put your right foot before your left. Oh, and buy some Dr. Seuss apps.

    Reply
    • What a wonderful idea to give Oh, The Places You’ll Go to graduates! Good thinking, Tracy. I’m sure it is greatly appreciated as it is a thoughtful, creative and encouraging gift.
      Thanks so much for the re-blog. :)

      Reply
  3. Love him too. I was lucky enough to interview him in Hong Kong in 1968… the handsomest, most intelligent, kindest, finest and most charming man I met!!!

    Reply
    • Oh my goodness, Valerie, that is AMAZING! Dare I suggest you post the interview on your blog? It would be wondeful to read it. What a fantastic experience. And I get to say “I know someone who knew Dr. Seuss!” :)

      Reply
  4. Dr. Seuss wrote the first book I ever received, The Cat in the Hat. He’s always been my favorite author of all times for all ages. Some of his books are actually deep even though they are simple enough for a child to understand. I would love to have interviewed. How lucky for Valerie Davies! :) Marsha :)

    Reply
    • Ditto, Marsha. I, too, love the books to this day, and always will.

      Reply
    • Yes, Marsha, you are so right. The books are not just ‘silly’ … many actually carry important lessons of courage, honor and kindness. Great stuff! :)

      Reply
  5. I’ll be honest, with no joking – Dr Seuss is a great influence on my writing, including my poetry. He knew how to have fun with words, and that’s what I love to do.

    Reply
    • Oh, I think using Dr. Seuss as a “role model” for your writing is a wonderful way to go. Profound ideas, expressed in a fun way. What could be better?

      Reply
    • Yes indeed. Dr. Seuss shared important messages through his ‘fun’ style, right down to the great bonding time parent-and-child have reading one of his books together. You chose a great role model. :)

      Reply
  6. Love Dr Seuss although I doubt I could recite anything. Good for you for paying attention when you were younger.

    Reply
    • You are just the sweetest person …. (in many ways), but I remember them from all those years ago because I was reading them to MY children. I wasn’t a child, myself. Yes, I am THAT old. :)

      Reply
  7. Zap on App? Dad Hears an iPad? Green Eggs and Spam?

    Reply
  8. Who doesn’t love Dr. Seuss?!?!? I have given “Oh the Places You’ll Go” as a wedding, graduation and baby gift more times than I can count. So inspirational ♥

    Reply
    • Oh, I love the thought of that one as a wedding present. That’s one of my favorites, too. I loved things like And To Think That I Saw It On Mulberry Street, and McElligot’s Pool. So MANY, and so inventive!

      Reply

I'd love to hear what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 743 other followers

