A Keyboard Shortcut for Punctuation on your iPad and iPhone

As part of my month-long anniversary series, some posts will include information covered previously. Hopefully this way new readers get to see things they missed and older readers might be reminded of things they have forgotten. (This “forgetting” thing happens to me, too!)

Photo Skitch Document-16

When you type on your iPad or iPhone, and you need to insert punctuation, you have to TAP the 123 button, then TAP the selected punctuation, and then TAP the ABC button so that the keyboard will return to the alphabet.

That’s 3 taps for each time you need to punctuate. Whew. That’s a lot of tapping.

Here is how to accomplish inserting your punctuation with just ONE tap:

When you get to the moment that you need punctuation, place your finger on the 123 button and HOLD. Now, SLIDE your finger to the punctuation you need, and then RELEASE. Tap – Slide – Release

Poof!

Your punctuation appears in your text, and your keyboard returns to the alphabet so that you can continue typing.

Give it a try: Touch the 123 ….. keep your finger on the screen ….. slide to the punctuation you want…. and release. Cool, huh? :cool:

Screen shot 2013-03-06 at 7.27.02 PM

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. It , works : thanks / I ( love $ these : short – cuts. ;-)

    Reply
  2. Oh this works great! Thank you! ♥

    Reply
    • It’s easy and quick… but it only works if you remember to use it. I forgot. Good thing I write this blog so I can remind myself about things like this! :)

      Reply
  3. :cool: cool yes!

    Reply
  4. That is cool. These simple things are new to me! After how many years of using iPhone, I never stopped to learn the simple things like this! Thanks Cathy! :)

    Reply
    • You’re welcome! This is one that I knew…. but (duh) I forgot. :oops: I’m so happy that you find it helpful!

      Reply
      • haha YOU forget. Aren’t you glad you have it down on your blog to remind you. Our blogs eventually become sort of a resource for us and others, too. :)

        Reply
  5. mylifeinfocusblog

     /  May 16, 2013

    thank you. i use the “.” a lot…………………………………….

    Reply
  6. Clever!!

    Reply
  7. Thanks! That’s a really helpful tip. Now, to commit it to memory : )

    Reply
    • That’s my problem, too…. memory! Sometimes I have to look back at my own blog to remember how to do things. :lol:

      Reply
  8. Great tip … always found the three tap approach a bit cumbersome.

    Reply

I'd love to hear what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 786 other followers

