Choosing a Keyboard for your iPad: What do you use?

Screen shot 2013-07-14 at 8.56.12 AMDo you do a lot of typing on your iPad?

Do you use a keyboard?

There are many different styles of keyboards to use with an iPad.

Some keyboards are actually included as part of a case. The good: you always have it with you. The bad: you always have it with you (making the iPad a bit heavier and less portable).

There are also external stand-alone keyboards. The good: they are often full size, familiar-to-your-fingers type keyboards. The bad: because they are stand-alone, you’ll need a stand for your iPad, and you’ll need to bring along all the pieces if you need to travel.

In addition to the case-included keyboards and stand-alone keyboards are many others, all attempting to give you the best typing experience combined with ease of use and a best effort to maintain portability.

I have often been asked for advice in choosing a keyboard, and unfortunately I have none. No opinion. No advice. Nada. I still use my notebook computer for my heavy typing, and so I have had no need to select a keyboard.

Most recently, Lori, one of my friendly blog readers asked the question: I want to get an external keyboard to use to write stories. What do you recommend for keyboards (that might double as a case)

It’s a great question, and I am quite curious myself.

So please please, readers-of-this-blog, if you have a keyboard that you use with your iPad, would you please tell us about it?  Both Lori and I would be very interested in what you have to share …..

And in the meantime,  here are several relatively recent links to some great reviews about iPad keyboards.

9 best iPad Keyboards: March 2013 ZDNet

Buying Guide: Find the best iPad keyboard March 2013 Macworld

Five Best iPad Keyboards lifehacker

Screen shot 2013-03-06 at 7.27.02 PM

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. thank you. I an’t wait to see what your readers have to suggest. ;)

    Reply
  2. I have a separate bluetooth keyboard which my tablet stands up in. It is very useful in meetings to jot down notes or minutes but other than that I don’t use it much. I also use my laptop for most work where lots of typing is needed or for posting in WP :)

    Reply
    • That’s interesting Jacquie, and very helpful, thank you!

      Reply
    • Jacquie … Lori posted another question for you, but since you might not look back, I thought I’ll try this under “reply” so you see it in your notifications. You can take a look at her question, but basically she wants to know if you find your iPad set-up stable…?

      Reply
      • Hi. Thanks for bringing this to my attention. I would have missed it otherwise. My tablet is a Samsung Galaxy and yes, it is very stable in the keyboard as long as it is on a flat surface. It is not very practical if I am working on my lap. Sorry it took me so long to spot this!

        Reply
  3. Jacqui, I looked at some like that. I want to use the iPad in my lap at meetings I will be attending. I am afraid if I lean over to pick up a pen or something, I would tip the keyboard and my iPad would hit the floor. Do you find it is very stable?

    Reply

I'd love to hear what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 798 other followers

