Hurray! Kindle App Adds Collections

Screen shot 2013-09-24 at 4.27.44 PMI love how the Kindle app keeps getting better. With this new update, the Kindle app now adds Collections. Yay! It’s about time.

There has been lots of chatter about this for months forever :lol:. Many people feel this is long overdue, and are celebrating this new feature. Collections helps you organize and makes it MUCH easier to browse through your books in the Cloud.

Photo Skitch Document-1

Once you have updated your app, you will discover that some Collections have been made for you. Just tap on the three lines on the upper left of your screen, and a menu will pop out from the side. You will see “Collections” on that list.

Photo Skitch Document-2

Tap on Collections, and see all your books appear in default categories such as “free” or “reading now”.

Touch and hold any book, and you will have the opportunity to Add to Collection. Tap on a book within a collection and you can remove it from a collection and put it into another. It is very intuitive and easy to use.

Photo Skitch Document-3

To create a new collection, just tap on the + sign on the Collections page.

I enjoy being organized, and this is a wonderful way to organize all of my Kindle books. I plan to spend the rest of the evening sorting through my library and placing books into Collections. :)

****** Creating Collections on your Kindle App will sync across other Kindle Apps (iPad to iPhone, for example), but will NOT sync to your Paperwhite or other Kindle device at this time.

Screen shot 2013-09-09 at 9.35.25 PM

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. How cool . . . thank you!!! :)

    Reply
  2. Just to clarify, this is for the Kindle App for PC’s, etc? And will it synch with all the collections I already have established on my device?

    Reply
    • It will sync across other Kindle Apps, but will not sync to your Paperwhite. This is something that Amazon still has to fix ……

      Reply
      • Okay, so I can copy the groups I have set up on Paperwhite and establish them in the Kindle app and synch it with my iPhone? It won’t UNDO anything on my Paperwhite, though, right? And I need to upload the new version, I guess?

        Reply
        • I just realized, I had collections already in my Kindle for PC app. What I don’t have is the ability to alphabetize them, so I’m always searching up and down my list for a certain author’s “folder.” Do you know if there is a way to do that? I can on the Paperwhite, of course.

          Reply
  3. I’ve read reports of collections in kindle synching over into the app, it didn’t occur to me that it wouldn’t work in reverse. I plan to start again on my kindle luckily I only started yesterday on my iPad. Hopefully it will synch across into the iOS app but I’m not entirely sure since collections aren’t in the cloud.

    Reply

I'd love to hear what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 754 other followers

