Creating a Bookmark aka Favorites Bar in iOS 7 and Deleting Unwanted Favorites

Recently a reader of this blog inquired about my directions (on an old blog post) for creating a bookmark bar and/or deleting unwanted favorites. Things are just a bit different now, with iOS 7, and I am grateful that he brought this to my attention. This post updates those old directions. :)

How to select Favorites: Keeping them and Deleting them

If you are browsing the internet in Safari, and you find a website that you would like to save as a favorite, just look to the top of your screen and find a box with an arrow aiming up.

Photo Skitch Document-4

Tap on that arrow-up box, and you will see a pop up box full of choices. To make a Favorite, first tap on Bookmark, then select Favorite and save.

Photo Skitch Document-5

Photo Skitch Document-6

If you change your mind, or if you want to delete some of the “favorites” that Apple chose for you, just look to the top of the screen and tap on the shape that resembles an open book. A list of your bookmarked favorites will drop down. To delete any of them, just touch it and slide your finger from right to left. A red “delete” button will appear. Just tap that, and …. whoosh!

Photo Skitch Document-7

How to Make the Bookmark Bar (Favorites Bar) appear in Safari on your iPad:

Now that you have some favorite websites bookmarked, you might like to have them handy at the top of your Safari screen. This used to be called the Bookmark Bar, but it now appears to be called the Favorites Bar.

To activate the Favorites Bar, just go to Setting > Safari > Show Favorites Bar. Make sure the “Show Favorites Bar” is activated by sliding the button to the right so that it appears green.

Photo Skitch Document-8

Once you have this activated, return to your Safari screen where your favorite bookmarks will be found across the top.

Photo Skitch Document-9

Screen shot 2013-09-09 at 9.35.25 PM

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. Ron

     /  September 25, 2013

    I see from your comments re bookmarks in ios7 . does this mean you have already downloaded IOS 7? I thought you were going to wait a few weeks or so before you downloaded it?
    will you be giving us tips/secrets about IOS7 in the near future?
    ron

    Reply
    • I did download it. Personally I would have preferred to wait a little while, but I felt a responsibility to this blog to get it downloaded and start sharing “stuff” about it …. My downloads were painless, altho I am not all that happy with the update. If you look across the top of the blog, you will see a new page for iOS7, and as I write posts about it, I’ll make sure all the links are included, there. :)

      Reply
  2. bv2200

     /  September 25, 2013

    Thanks so much sharechair. This was very helpful…..you are the greatest !

    Bob

    Reply
  3. Candy

     /  September 25, 2013

    How can I make an existing bookmark folder a favorite?

    Reply
    • If you follow the directions, above, when you get to the “tap on favorites” part, once you tap the “favorites” you should be given another option, off to the right, and that would be “folders” (if you have made one). Tap on Folders, and it should appear in your Favorites bar. :)

      Reply
  4. Thanks Cathy! :)

    Reply
  5. Jeremiah

     /  October 5, 2013

    Thanks for the bookmarks/favorites info. I’m a little confused between the bookmark and favorite option when selecting. What is the purpose/difference for them? It would seem that a bookmark is a favorite and having a separate selection of favorite only confuses things. Any clarification would help my understanding. Thanks,

    Jeremiah

    Reply
    • I think that you have noticed something that even the Apple designers have trouble distinguishing. Just look how, in iOS7, they renamed the “bookmark bar” and now they call it … the “favorites bar.” You are right, it’s a hairline distinction, and actually I think it’s a coin toss as to what to call either. But for now … you can make a “favorites bar” and in my mind, that would be your favorite websites. Bookmarks are all the websites you save, and within those you can make folders, and among those folders, one grouping would be ‘favorites’, that is, your favorite bookmarks. I think this is one of those things that you don’t want to think about too much. :)

      Reply
  6. RW

     /  October 6, 2013

    Dear Sharechair, so glad I found you. Wish I had never downloaded ios7, there is no going back. Have been thinking of buying refurbished iPad with my old ios6. since I am over 70, I do not take to “change” very much. This is like starting over, am even stuck on diff. Between bookmarks and favorites…..

    Reply
    • Welcome! and no worries! I’m not delighted with iOS7 either, but I’m learning to live with it. We’ll take it slow, and just learn ONE thing at time. Look up at the top of the blog, and you’ll see a link for all the iOS 7 posts. As I write them, I’ll file them all there, in case you miss any. Go slow … you’ll be ok, I promise! :)

      Reply
  7. Sunny Drohan

     /  October 19, 2013

    I am stymied as to how to create a new folder title for my bookmarks, ie, say, recipes for rice cookers. The old way showed an edit area to create a new folder that I could then send it to.
    Help please. I have an ipad3

    Reply
    • Try this…. While looking at the recipe you want to include in a new folder, look in the UPPER RIGHT hand corner. Tap on the open book.
      This should open a dropdown screen. Look at the bottom corner, for the word EDIT. Tap that.

      Now, on the left, you should have the option to create a NEW FOLDER.

      hope this works for you!! :) I know how frustrating it is not to be able to do what you want to do!

      Reply
      • Sunny Drohan

         /  October 20, 2013

        Thank you so much. In fact it is much easier to do in the new ios 7
        Much appreciated. 🌞

        Reply
  8. Anonymous

     /  October 20, 2013

    Hi how do you actually delete a bookmark folder? I am totally stumped with this.

    Reply
    • As you are looking at an internet page, click the book-looking thing on the upper RIGHT. Notice at the bottom of the dropdown, on the bottom right, there is an “edit” button.
      Tap that, and you should see some red minus signs appear next to your folders. Tap one of those minus signs, and a delete button appears to the right. Hope this works for you! :)

      Reply
  9. Sarah

     /  October 31, 2013

    My bookmarks are not saving!!! Please help. Thanks

    Reply
    • Hi, Sarah. Oh dear …. this does sound frustrating. I would suggest completely turning off your device and then re-starting it. Sometimes, when things act a little screwy, that is enough to get things working again.
      When you tap on the left upper side, and “add Bookmark” … be sure to additionally tap on “SAVE” (altho I’m guessing you did this.) Once you do that, and you go over to the right side and click on Bookmarks, you should, yes … see the bookmark you just saved. If you are doing this correctly, and it still doesn’t work even after re-booting your device, then I’m afraid you’ll have to turn to a real tech support person, and not my little “regular folks” blog. Good luck with this and please let me know how you do! :)

      Reply
  10. Lee

     /  November 15, 2013

    How do I delete items I added to the home screen? No little x mark appears when I hold down an icon until it jiggles.

    Reply
    • If you are trying to delete an icon, you are exactly right. Just hold it until it wiggles, then tap on the x. If you don’t see an X, then that icon (app) can not be deleted. Apps that come with the phone, can’t be deleted. You can’t delete “notes” or “contacts” for example. :)

      Reply
  11. Kellie

     /  December 10, 2013

    Hello, I am sure that I had bookmarks on my device before I updated to iOS 7? Would they have gone/saved somewhere else? Thank you

    Reply
    • I honestly don’t remember them disappearing … they should be there. iOS7 takes a little getting used to. If you did lose them, I hope you didn’t have too many, and they can be easily recreated.

      Reply
  1. iOS 7 Tips and Tricks | Oregon Law Practice Management

I'd love to hear what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 735 other followers

