Amazon’s Mayday Button will be a BIG help for “Everyday Folks”

Screen shot 2013-11-13 at 7.17.37 PMI think probably everyone has experienced a tech-support-horror-story.

I do believe that many people who avoid getting smart phones or tablets stay away because they are afraid that if they run into trouble, they won’t know where to turn.

Amazon seems to really understand “support.” They have always had an outstanding reputation for help-calls.

However, even when support is excellent, following directions can sometimes be difficult, especially if your device is new to you. The tech person might use vocabulary or refer to functions and buttons that simply sound like jibberish to a newbie.

Enter the Mayday button on Amazon’s new Kindle Fire HDX. This makes support for the “everyday person” completely ….. well, close to perfect.

Let’s say, for example, you have a new Kindle Fire HDX and you want to set up your email on the device, but you have no clue how to do it.

Just tap the Mayday button and a tech support person appears on the screen. And, even better, they can actually SEE your device screen, and access your controls. They can teach you how to do whatever it is that you need to do. They can circle the button, draw arrows and explain while they show you exactly what to do. Imagine that!

And… this Mayday person will be available to you 24/7, 365 days a year. You need help, help is always right there.

Amazon is promising that the Mayday person will show up on your screen within 15 seconds (wow, huh). They must be planning a full house for Christmas because I can just imagine all the new Kindle Fires being opened on Christmas morning and a deluge of people pushing that Mayday button (if for no other reason than just to see how it works).

I have an old Fire (no Mayday button), and I can tell you that there have been many times where assistance would have been wonderful. Not major issues, mind you, or I would have called the regular suppport line, but just a “I wonder if I can…or how do I…” How nice it would have been to tap a button and get an instant answer!

Here is a video with a few short commercials showing the Mayday button in action.

(fyi ….when you push the Mayday button, you will see the person, and they will see your Kindle Fire’s screen, but they will not see you.:) )

The Mayday button may actually convince you to get a new Kindle Fire HDX

Amazon adds ‘Mayday’ button tech support to new Kindle Fire HDX tablets

Screen shot 2013-09-09 at 9.35.25 PM

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. I think it’s like having a ShareChair at your fingertips! :)

    Reply
  2. gosh that is tempting, I dont know what a kindle fire does, but I think I should find out :)

    Reply
  3. I like the idea of that. I have seen the commercial here in the UK lately, but can you imagine it late at night?

    It’s 3 a.m.
    How do I do this? Oh, I know. I’ll press the Mayday button
    Dude, it’s 3 in the morning
    That’s okay, they’re there 24/7
    presses Mayday button
    Yaaaaawwwnnnn .. hmm? wha…?? Uhh oh .. hi yawwnnn … how cn I helpppp. hmm? yeah, sorry. Can I help?

    hehe

    Reply
  4. When my nearly 3 yr old is tapping away on her Dads tablet lol, Me thinks I am well behind the door, and would definitely need the Mayday Button! :-D xxxx

    Reply
    • Kids just seem to know (from birth!) how to do everything with these gadgets. :) Won’t be long until you’ll be asking your daughter how to do things…. :)

      Reply

I'd love to hear what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 784 other followers

