Soon You Can “Watch” Your Luggage as You Fly

Screen shot 2013-11-14 at 8.41.19 PMEvery once in a while an idea comes along and you say …. yay!

This is that kind of idea.

If you have done even a fair amount of flying in your life, you have probably experienced the dreaded “lost luggage.” You can recall that awful feeling you get when you stand at the luggage carousel and watch the bags go round and round. But not yours. And gradually the crowd around you thins out until you are the only one standing and waiting for your luggage to appear. And it doesn’t. No luggage for you. (Been there, done that). :shock:

But next year, this experience might be a thing of the past.

Beginning in 2014, airlines are going to introduce electronic tags for your luggage. With your Smartphone you will be able to track the exact location of your bags at any point during your travels.

If your bag misses your connection, you’ll know it, and you can let the airline know immediately where to send it. (and you won’t waste time standing at the dreaded carousel.)

I really like this idea. No more “surprises” at the airport!

Lost Luggage? Airlines Have Got A Brand New (Electronic) Tag

Screen shot 2013-09-09 at 9.35.25 PM

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Electronic tags, what a great idea. Hugs, Barbara

    Reply
  2. Sounds great. Once my luggage went to San Francisco and that was NOT my destination! They did trace it with the traditional code system but I had to wait an extra day for my suitcase to arrive. They did send it out to me by taxi which was nice, but I was afraid I wouldn’t have my clothing for a job interview that was scheduled, so it was stressful till I got my suitcase. I supposed they put it on the wrong plane at the hub where I changed planes. I wonder if this system will prevent that? Would be good if it does though :)

    Reply
    • Oh, that must have been awful. You really needed that luggage! I hope the stress of waiting and wondering didn’t interfere with your interview.

      Reply
  3. What a great idea! Thank you for sharing!

    Reply
  4. Thank you for sharing the good news! I’m looking forward to it.
    Russ

    Reply
  5. Love this idea. One did get lost, but my fault. Missed my plane connection. I had it delivered within 24 hours. It would have been wonderful 2 know.

    Reply

I'd love to hear what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 798 other followers

