Oxford Dictionaries Word of the Year for 2013 is …….

Screen shot 2013-11-20 at 6.56.12 PMWhat is the Oxford Dictionaries Word of the Year (WOTY)?
The Oxford Dictionaries Word of the Year is a word, or expression, that we can see has attracted a great deal of interest during the year to date. Every year, candidates for Word of the Year are debated and one is eventually chosen that is judged to reflect the ethos, mood, or preoccupations of that particular year and to have lasting potential as a word of cultural significance.
(Oxford Dictionaries.com)

And so, this year’s Word of the Year was recently announced, and the winner is …….. drum roll, please ……. “selfie.”

Yes, that’s it. The International Word of the Year.

SELFIE

What is it? Here is the Oxford definition:

selfie:
noun, informal
(also selfy; plural selfies)
a photograph that one has taken of oneself, typically one taken with a smartphone or webcam and uploaded to a social media website

The word Selfie can be traced back to an Australian online forum wayyy back in 2002.

Do you use this word? (I haven’t)

Do you take selfies? (I have, a few times when traveling, and quickly deleted the result. Clearly selfies are not a friendly form of photography for folks-of-a-certain-age :shock:)

Screen shot 2013-09-09 at 9.35.25 PM

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Always look up when shooting a selfie. Our chins will seem prominent. 😃😃

    Reply
  2. Sorry. Our chins will seem LESS prominent.

    Reply
  3. Trudi is right. Trouble is, I can’t look up HIGH enough to keep mine from filling the whole picture! So…selfies and I are not friends. :)

    Reply
  4. what a funny word! I have certainly seen many people taking Selfies, especially when viewing the Mona Lisa in the Louvre …. I don’t use this word but can confess to taking a few Selfies such as reflections in mirrors or mirrored glass in settings I would like to remember :)

    Reply
    • The mirrored glass is a good idea. That is far enough away :). But the camera-at-the-end-of-the-arm is MUCH too unforgiving. (And I agree…. it is a funny word!)

      Reply
  5. I don’t really get all the fuss but it appears “selfie” is the word to know and use these days. I heard that if you take a “selfie” with another person it’s called an “us-ie”. Is this so? If, yes, then I need to hop with it and get with it! I am behind the times! ;-)

    Reply
    • I strolling along behind the times right with you. I only heard the word “selfie” when it was announced as word of the year! :shock:

      Reply
  6. I am right there with you! My arms need to be a lot longer to appreciate any selfies. ;)

    Reply
  7. I have a relative who posts a new one at least once a day on FB. Even from her hospital bed :)

    Reply
  8. I first heard this expression just 6 months ago. I feel so behind the times!

    Reply
    • You are 6 months ahead of me! So glad to know that even young people like you have trouble keeping up. Makes me feel just a little bit less ancient. :)

      Reply
  9. Who knew that would be picked as the word of the year! It is cute, and appropriate but word of the year??? My husband taught it to me when we were on our Accidental Vacation, so 2 months ago for me. Amazing. :)

    Reply

I'd love to hear what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 735 other followers

