How to Quickly Silence an Incoming Call on your iPhone: (part of the) Very Beginner Series

Screen Shot 2014-01-15 at 9.43.21 AMOccasional posts will contain how-tos and/or hints for VERY new users of iPads, iPhones or Kindles. All new users welcome! Non-tech speak, not terribly detailed, just basic device-enhancing goodness. All part of this Very Beginner Series. Please share with any beginners (Mom? Dad? Grandma?) in your life.

*

It has happened to all of us.

You are in an inconvenient place to receive a call.

Suddenly your phone rings, you can’t answer it, and you want that ring tone to stop, NOW.

My story: I was in a packed elevator when my phone went off, blaring a peppy obnoxious tune. So embarrassed was I. :oops:

How to quickly silence an incoming call:

Just press the wake/sleep button at the top of your phone. The ringer stops. With the ringer silenced, you can still answer the call, OR you can just let it go to voice mail.

(pressing one of the volume buttons will also do the same thing, but I find the wake/sleep button on the top of the phone easier to hit quickly.)

photo.PNG-2

Screen shot 2013-09-09 at 9.35.25 PM

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Oh my goodness……THANK YOU!!!!!! lol!

    Reply
  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog and for the advice above. I usually hit the button at the bottom. lol For as much as I know, there’s so much more I don’t about the iPhone. Donna
    http://www.mylifeonestoryatatime.com

    Reply
    • And thank you for the pingback! I know what you mean about there being so much more to learn. I feel that way every day, which is really why I started this blog. Keeps me learning! Welcome! :)

      Reply

I'd love to hear what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 797 other followers

