Boy uses a 3-D printer to make a HAND for his friend

Screen Shot 2014-02-20 at 8.31.26 AMDid you read the title of this post? A boy uses a 3-D printer to make a HAND for his friend. Crazy, right?

I have to admit here that I’m feeling my age. I try to “keep up” as best as I can with new tech advances, but the 3D printer is something that I simply can’t seem to get my brain wrapped around. I’ve read of so many marvelous things that 3D printers can do, but I keep thinking of them in the future, but .. no no … 3D things are happening now.

Not only are they happening, but they are becoming common. And not as a novelty. To my constant surprise, 3D printers are already being used in schools and are even available in many libraries for public use.

And it appears as though the uses of the 3D printer are only limited by imagination.

Now get out your tissues to read this story:

9 year old Matthew was born without fingers. His Mom had looked into buying him a prosthetic hand, but prices ran as high as $18,000 and this was more than she could afford.

Enter family friend, Mason Wilde, a 16 year old boy with a passion for “figuring out how things work.”

Mason went to his local library, and used their 3D printer to make a working hand for Matthew!

Yes, really.

Read the whole story, here.

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Fascinating!!!! Just scoped out the original article and shared to my Fb!!!!! Awesome use of available technology and proves that 16 year olds hold our future…..in a good way!!!!

    Reply
  2. That is incredible!!

    Reply
  3. Wow! Wow! Wow! Incredible story.

    Reply
  4. what clever innovative people! my son uses 3D printers to make jewellery models of stuff like weather data ….http://mtchl.net/weather-bracelet/

    Reply
    • Isn’t that amazing!!! and beautiful. Merging Science and Art … just awesome. Thank you for sharing that! Clearly, great talent runs in your family. :)

      Reply

I'd love to hear what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 797 other followers

