Typing in Caps (part of the) Very Beginner Series

Occasional posts will contain how-tos and/or hints for VERY new users of iPads, iPhones or Kindles. All new users welcome! Non-tech speak, not terribly detailed, just basic device-enhancing goodness. All part of this Very Beginner Series. Please share with any beginners (Mom? Dad? Grandma?) in your life.

Screen Shot 2014-03-13 at 5.55.01 PMOver the last several years, “throwback Thursday” has become quite popular.

Although it is really supposed to be about nostalgia (like old photos), I thought I’d stretch the point, and occasionally post an old “how to” on Thursdays, for the benefit of the many new-device-users who have joined our blog.

How to type in Caps:

When you first get your new iPhone or iPad, one of the first things you’ll do is spend some time typing on the keyboard. You’ll quickly learn to tap the up-arrow when you want a capital letter.

Attachment-1-8

But what if you want to type in ALL caps? You do not need to tap the arrow every single time ….

Just DOUBLE-TAP the up-arrow, and it will darken. Now every letter you type will BE A CAPITAL LETTER.

Attachment-1-9

When you are done cap-typing, just touch the up-arrow again, and you’ll turn off your caps.

(remember to use your caps responsibly. It isn’t polite to shout. :) )

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I am not a very new user and I didn’t know that.. sigh. Thank you. I need to browse the Very Beginner Series.. :)

    Reply
    • I’m so glad to hear that!!! I was hoping that someone would benefit, and you did…. so I’m happy. :) Thanks for letting me know.

      Reply
  2. not the right spot I know but just wanted to let you know I *finally* updated to iOS 7 — no problem at all, just couldn’t find my apps, then realized it skipped a page and I had to swipe one more time and they were there!

    Reply
    • Good for you! You’re right, it was time. iOS7 is here to stay …. for a while. I’m already reading about what’s coming in iOS8!! :) (what’s that old Pennsylvania Dutch saying? “the faster I go, the behinder I get….”)

      Reply
  3. If I ever get one of those thingies, I’m trawling this blog for help :)

    Reply

I'd love to hear what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 785 other followers

