How to Make an Icon for your Most-Used Bookmarks on your iPad or iPhone

Over the last several years, “throwback Thursday” has become quite popular.

Although it is really supposed to be about nostalgia (like old photos), I thought I’d stretch the point, and occasionally post an old (but updated!) “how to” on Thursdays, for the benefit of the many new-device-users who have joined our blog.

Screen Shot 2014-05-08 at 9.39.32 AMI have LOTS of bookmarks on Safari, but it isn’t that easy to access them. You have to drill down a bit to get to what you want to see.

So, for those websites that I visit often, I skip the whole book-mark thing, and make icons for my home screen, instead.

This way, when I want to visit a favorite website, all I have to do is tap the icon.

How to Make an Icon for your Most-Used Bookmarks

Just go to the site of your choice, like “sharechair.wordpress.com”. Look to the upper left hand corner and tap on the ‘action’ box.

From Skitch-6

*

After tapping the arrow-box, you will see several choices. Select “add to home screen”.

*

From Skitch-7

*

Finally, select “add”.

*

From Skitch-8

All done!!

You now have a new icon on your home screen. Just tap it whenever you want to go to your favorite website. Enjoy this quick and handy option (instead of drilling down through your bookmarks).

From Skitch-9

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. barb19

     /  May 8, 2014

    I recently purchased an ipad and have been searching for a way to add icons to my home screen, and it is only through trial and error that I’ve just discovered how to do it. Would have save myself a lot of time had I seen your article first!
    It will help a lot of people.

    Reply
    • I think this really is an “underused” option to keep your favorites close at hand. Glad you were able to figure it out!!! :)

      Reply
  2. I love this option!!

    Reply
  3. Thanks for the tip! I have had my iPad for about 7 months and there is always something new to learn.

    Reply

I'd love to hear what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 798 other followers

