How to Delete an App from your iPad or iPhone: (part of the) Very Beginner Series

* Occasional posts will contain how-tos and/or hints for VERY new users of iPads, iPhones or Kindles. All new users welcome! Non-tech speak, not terribly detailed, just basic device-enhancing goodness. All part of this Very Beginner Series.

Please share with any beginners (Mom? Dad? Grandma?) in your life.*

Screen Shot 2014-06-10 at 8.11.07 AMI received a message from a reader today asking how to delete an app. I can’t believe that I neglected to include such a basic “how to” on this blog! Let me correct that, right now. :)

Any new iPhone/iPad user will soon find themselves loaded with apps. While some of those apps will be useful, you will probably find that others are not-so-good and you would like to get them OFF of your device. It’s very easy to do.

How to delete an app from your iPhone or iPad:

Hold your finger on the app that you want to remove from your device.

It will start to wiggle, and you will see an “x” in the corner of the icon.

photo.PNG-3

Tap on the “x” and you will be given a message that asks if you are sure that you want to delete this app.

photo-2

Once you tap “delete”, the app disappears. Poof!

FYI … it’s not gone forever. You bought it. You own it. If you ever want it back, just return to the iTunes store and download it again. Apple will remember that you already bought it, so you will download it without charge.

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 6.01.13 PM

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I will have to show these to my son.

    I found out that things I brought from the Play Store do the same thing. When i went on there after getting my Galaxy Note, I found all the apps I brought over two years ago. No doubt when I get the iPhone 76 I will find everything there again :-)

    Reply
  2. I just discovered this but after deleting the app, how do you stop the wiggle on the screen?

    Reply

I'd love to hear what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 786 other followers

