Crumbling Kindle Cord, Oh, My!

Crumbled Kindle cord with large areas of silver wire exposed.

We have two Kindles in our household, and so we have two Kindle power cords. One of those cords is in a more accessible area and therefore gets more use than the other.

A few days ago, I reached for the less-used Kindle cord, and was horrified to find that instead of holding a white cord in my hand, I was holding a mostly bare, silver wire. The white plastic surrounding the actual wire had crumbled, disintegrated, and it had fallen off in tiny pieces. I couldn’t believe what I was seeing and looked closer. Little bits of white plastic littered the cord area, and as I held the cord, more bits fell off in my hand.

Close up of the crumbling Kindle cord

I immediately fired off an email to Amazon, and within several hours, they answered with an apology and a new cord. Thank you, Amazon. (I have always had positive experiences with their customer service.)

The Bad Thing: The cord fell apart.

The Good Thing: Amazon stood by their product and replaced it.

But, the Bad Thing: The cord fell apart. That shouldn’t have happened. 😦

7 thoughts on “Crumbling Kindle Cord, Oh, My!

  1. Tad Kallini says:

    Absolutely should not have happened. But it did. So I would ask Amazon 1. What would cause this and 2. Is there anything a Kindle owner can do to prevent this problem? I wouldn’t think lack of use is the culprit here.

    • Good question! I examined the other Kindle cord, and I see no signs of any impending crumble, yet an internet search shows me that I am not alone in this experience. I’m going to take your advice and go back to my correspondence thread with Amazon and ask them … why? Thanks, Tad! I’ll be sure to report back if I get an answer to that question.
      And thank you for visiting my blog and taking the time to comment. Much appreciated 🙂

      • Update: I did hear back from Amazon, but the answer was unsatisfactory. I was advised that it could be due to power fluctuations in the home (seems unlikely, all other cords, devices, etc are just fine), or mishandling of the cord by pulling it or applying undue pressure (didn’t happen). I’m guessing it was a faulty batch from their supplier, but that wasn’t suggested.

  2. Daniela says:

    I like this story … OK I know it should not have happened, and you did the right thing to contact Amazon, but I just like the way you wrote about it. I like your writings.
    Cheers!
    Daniela

    • Thank you, Daniela. I agree, things happen, and it is fortunate when a company stands behind their product.
      I am delighted and honored that someone like you … a real writer … enjoys my rants 🙂

  3. My mom and I had the same problem with our Kindle cords, and doing a quick search will tell you that it is a widespread problem. Amazon is handling the situation really well by replacing the faulty cords at no cost, but the idea that they suggested your problem was due to power fluctuations or mishandling is ridiculous. It’s a faulty product. No biggie. They made a mistake and are fixing it, but they can at least own up to it. 🙂

    • I absolutely agree. Amazon’s customer service is great, and they replaced the cord immediately. Their “reason” however, was poor. Faulty batch, period. Thanks so much for visiting my blog and taking the time to comment! Much appreciated.:)

I'd love to hear what you think!

