Replacing Hotel Bibles with Kindles: An Experiment in the UK

photo credit: Rosh PR via photo pin cc

An interesting Kindle news story from the UK caught my eye this week:

A UK hotel in Newcastle has just swapped their Bibles for Bible-loaded Kindles in their hotel rooms. It’s an experiment, they say, and they will evaluate its success in a few weeks.

I’m a Kindle enthusiast, yet I have mixed thoughts about this. On the down side, for those who truly use the Bible while staying in a hotel, if they have never handled an eReader, it could be a jarring experience, since a person’s interaction with a Bible is personal and probably employs a lot of flipping to favorite passages.

On the other hand, we live in a diverse world, and the Kindle can easily also hold a multitude of other religious texts and this is a huge positive. It would be wonderful for those of varied faiths to have the opportunity to read spiritual material, as well.

So, my vote would be to add a spiritually packed Kindle, rather than just replace the Bible.

And that’s what I’ll say to the hotel in Newcastle if they give me a call. 🙂

10 thoughts on “Replacing Hotel Bibles with Kindles: An Experiment in the UK

    • I’ll be interested to see if they continue it when their ‘experiment’ is over… or if other hotels catch on and do something similar. After all, I guess someone had to be “first” to put a TV in a hotel room, too. 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and taking the time to comment. Much appreciated.

  1. Daniela says:

    You can join my vote to yours too (yep all the way from ‘down under’). This is because there is indeed ‘multitude of other religious texts’ out there besides Bible. Providing a device that people can use to access them is a one way of acknowledging diversity. And diversity is what our world is made of -:)!

  2. I have the Bible on my Kindle and it’s taking some getting used to. I imagine they are using the base Kindle version ‘… otherwise the expense would seem prohibitive. Thanks for keeping us up to date on these things, Kathy!

    • and thank YOU for visiting my blog and taking the time to make a comment. I find your blog very inspiring and I’m so grateful that you took the time to visit mine. And ………… let me say that I’m not surprised that you are finding the Bible a bit tricky on the Kindle. Although it’s an awesome device for a straight read, it is sometimes frustrating to try to hop around within a text. 🙂

    • OH, my goodness, really!!!?? I’m heading out to go and read about that right now. Thanks so much for telling me about this. It must be causing a bit of a stir!!! 🙂

  3. How awesome…..Do they keep it charged for their guests too? They must. I wonder if the guest could download items or would this be blocked somehow? I could imagine some interesting downloads that might not go so well with the bible……
    Somewhere we stayed on our trip had the bible and The Teachings of The Compassionate Buddha. I was impressed.

I'd love to hear what you think!

