To Delete or Not To Delete? That Is My Question

photo credit: James Marvin Phelps via photo pin cc

The iPhone and other smart phones have given everyone the luxury of having a camera in their pocket. It wasn’t that many years ago that if you were going to a family event, someone would be reminded on the way out the door to “bring the camera.” A camera would be on your travel packing list, and carried along to dance recitals and sporting events.

For the spur of the moment happenings, its absence would be lamented. When you experienced a beautiful sunset or a magnificent view you’d moan, “I wish I had my camera!”

Today these smart phones are everywhere, and therefore so are cameras. Just look around. If you are in a crowd, someone (actually, LOTS of someones) will be smart-phone-photographing something.

Count me among the many. I take pictures of things I never would have taken ‘before’. No thought required, now, because it isn’t a matter of spending $ to get negatives developed. No reason to be choosy. If you don’t like what you see, you just hit the delete button.

Ooops. Let’s just say that you can hit the delete button. That it is possible.

For me, however, it’s a stumbling block. Delete? How can I delete this picture of my loved one? Even if it’s a horrible picture, I still have trouble sending it to the trash.

Why? I’m not really sure. Perhaps because for most of my life I went through the effort of running to the pharmacy to get film developed? When you finally received your pictures (nearly a week later) they just seemed so precious. I would never think of throwing away a photograph in those days.

Even if someone’s eyes were closed, if the smile wasn’t perfect, or if the shirt wasn’t tucked in, the photo stayed in the album. Maybe this flawed picture would get tucked behind another, but it was never, ever thrown away. It just didn’t seem right.

Today I can take 50 pictures of an event or an excursion, and even though there are far more than we need, and some that are downright awful, I hesitate before touching that delete button. I do, but seldom and with reservation.

Am I the only one who feels this hesitation?

Recently I did a lot of scanning of old photos from albums. Those “bad photos” from years ago fell out from behind the visible ones …. and I was delighted to have them.

So maybe I’ll continue to be stingy with my deleting finger.

*
*
p.s. If you are a deleter, you can learn about deleting a batch of photos, here

7 thoughts on “To Delete or Not To Delete? That Is My Question

  1. Daniela says:

    I vote for stinginess -! Photos are like life frozen in its frame … you capture it before it goes away. Replaced by tomorrows.
    Daniela

  2. I’m a deleter. I don’t like clutter. If I can’t get it off my camera / phone onto my external hard drive or the cloud quickly – I get rid of it. There are some treasures that were spared going to the trash and in retrospect, I am so glad I still have them, like last week’s Weekly Photo Challenge of my sister and I laughing – I’m so glad that one survived.

    • That’s my struggle. I don’t like clutter, either. As a matter of fact, I have been on a quest to simplify all aspects of my life, and de-cluttering is a major part of that. The trick is to save enough photos to keep the treasures without drowning in digital debris!

I'd love to hear what you think!

