Translate Language with Your Voice on Your iPad or iPhone with SayHi

photo credit: zinjixmaggir via photo pin cc

One of my regrets in life is that I never learned another language. It seems kind of arrogant to travel and expect everyone else to know how to speak what I speak. (I could easily write a ranting post about that, but it is not my point for today)

I think that SayHi is simply amazing. All you have to do is to speak a sentence in your own language, and the app then translates it, and SPEAKS it in the language of your choice!

Let’s take a look.

When you first open the app, you’ll tap Settings so you can set your languages. I chose English (United States) as my Primary and German as my Secondary.

When you tap on Secondary you get a long list of language choices. I spent considerable time tapping and talking through a number of them:

Arabic, Basque, Cantonese, Catalan, Danish, Dutch, English (Australia), English (United Kingdom), English (United States), French (Canada), French (France), Greek, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Mandarin (China), Mandarin (Taiwan), Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese (Brazil), Portuguese (Portugal), Russian, Slovak, Spanish (Mexico), Spanish (Spain), Spanish (United States), Swedish, Thai, Turkish. (Thai, Turkish, Slovak, Greek, Hindi, Indonesian, Catalan, Basque and Arabic are written translations only, no speech)

Once your Primary and Secondary choices are set, you are ready to translate.

Just tap and talk. The app will translate what you say into the language you choose, and then it will SAY it (male or female voice both available). With your device in hand you can communicate in a situation that otherwise might have been difficult. I’m remembering one very awkward moment in a bakery in Italy several years ago where this app would have been a life-saver (and a pastry-picker 🙂 )

You also have the option to type your words and get a written translation by tapping on the keyboard next to the speech button. (But it’s the speech that makes the app so special.)

I’m willing to guess that there are inaccuracies for complicated translations. But for simple communication, I think this is truly awesome. I can only imagine how helpful this can be in so many situations. It works on both the iPad and on the iPhone, so you can have it with you at all times, right in your pocket.

SayHi is currently on sale for 99¢ in the iTunes store.

4 thoughts on “Translate Language with Your Voice on Your iPad or iPhone with SayHi

  1. I so wish I’d had this tool on holidays in Argentina when friends were jabbering away in Spanish and everyone would laugh so I’d laugh along without a clue what the joke was all about – very dangerous since the joke may have been about me. Anyway I just went to the Play store now to see f this is available for Samsung and the only SayHi app I could find is the one that you use to look for a husband – Y eso es algo que voy a pensar en otro día, o la vida de otra

I'd love to hear what you think!

