How to Add a Photo to Your Contacts on Your iPhone: (part of the) Very Beginner Series

photo credit: Wikipedia

If you’ve just gotten an iPhone, you probably would like to set it up so that photos of your callers appear on your screen when they are calling you. This is very easy to do.

The first step is to have a photo of your contact on your phone in your camera roll. You might already have a picture there, or you may need to take one.

We took this picture of our friend Homer (not really) and we want to add his photo to our contact page for him.

Here is how to add a picture:

Go to Contacts and tap on your contact’s name. You will see a square with a silhouette. That is where the picture will go.

Look at the upper right corner. Tap on “edit”, and the silhouette will disappear, replaced with a little box that says “add photo”.

Tap on the box that says “add photo”, and two choices will pop up from the bottom. You can “take photo” or “choose photo”. If you tap on “take photo”, the camera will open. We already have Homer’s picture in our camera roll, so we are going to select “choose photo”.

Once you have selected your photo, you will be offered the opportunity to move or change the size of the picture for the purpose of making it a close-up, just as you would like it.

When you are happy with the photo, just tap “choose”.

That’s it. You’re done.

Your edited photo now appears next to the person’s name on the Contact Page.

And this means, when your contacts call you, their photos will appear next to their name on your screen.

(This is also the way to add photos to contacts on your iPad. Contact > Edit > Add Photo)

21 thoughts on “How to Add a Photo to Your Contacts on Your iPhone: (part of the) Very Beginner Series

  1. What do I do if I’m and ABA (Anything But Apple) guy and I have an Android? Just kidding … I really don’t care if a picture comes up. But it’s pretty easy on an Android, too.

    • Isn’t it great that there are devices for everyone, including all you ABA’s. 🙂 I admit to loving all the bells and whistles, the pictures, sounds, alerts, all of it.

  2. Reblogged this on Passionate About Pets and commented:
    I thought some of your might be interested in this blog which is about sharing technical stuff and apps. This recent post is about the iphone. One of my friends here has just got one, so this is for you Rebekah, and any other new iphone users! It’s a great blog – check it out!

  3. iPhones are great, as are all Apple products, I’m a Macahollic when it comes to computing. But, any phone with a camera allows adding photos to ID caller – even my cheapo Virgin Mobile phone. Something l like to do, if the contact had a picture online, social medial etc, take your shot from the computer. I even do this with company logos which helps me ID who’s calling – WalMart, The Animal Keeper, and so on. It’s easier, for me anyway, to see the picture than read the numbers or letters.
    For all you Android users, there’s this one.

    • Thanks for this! I can only share what I know… and I DON’T know a LOT. I appreciate the Android education!! Thanks for visiting and taking the time to post. Much appreciated. 🙂

  4. This is fantastic!! Everything I’ve learned, I’ve learned through trial and error so I’m quite grateful for your blog and info!!! My sister has an iPad and since she’s legally blind it’s difficult for her to know how to fully utilize it. Now I can help her over the phone (since we live quite a ways away from each other) with your info, too!!

    So thank you from me and from her!!! 😀
    — Kathy

    • Oh, I am so glad that this is helpful for you! You’ve made me very happy with your comment. I am delighted that this might help your sister, too! Please say “hi” to her, from me. 🙂
      🙂 Kathy (we share the same name)

  5. Todd says:

    I’d like to be able to choose a photo from Dropbox. Dropbox is not an option when selecting ‘Choose Photo’. Does the photo have to be downloaded to the device first?

    Thanks,Todd

  6. Scott says:

    Is there any way to add a short video clip to a contact. My son does a silly dance that I’d like to have pop up when he calls. Let me know.

    • Hi, Scott. That would be so cool to have your son’s silly dance show up as the contact photo! I thought that maybe if it was a gif it would work, but some googling told me that it probably would not. I can’t give you a ‘for sure’ answer, but I’m pretty sure the answer (at this time) is no. However, things keep changing, and a new OS is going to be released shortly, and I’m sure that eventually a video will be supported. And maybe a REAL techy person could figure out how to do it, now. Let us know if you figure it out! 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

