Solar: A Stunning New Weather App for Your iPhone and iPad

I have quite a few weather apps, and I really thought I was “done” ….. until I saw this one. Solar was just released this week, and it is very different and very beautiful.

I love simple utility apps, and Solar fits this perfectly. It won’t give you lots of details, but it gives you the current weather, temperature, and the forecast for the hours and days ahead. All the stuff you really need.

And the screens are presented with beautiful colors. Subtle, changing colors. Hot temperatures will present with reds and oranges, cooler temperatures display with soft blues. Gorgeous.

You can add cities and swipe from screen to screen to see them quickly. A double tap will put four on the screen at once.

Slide your finger up, and you can watch the clock move and the temperature displayed for the hours ahead.

Slide your finger down, and the next three days of temps and weather are on the screen.

Lovely to look at. A delight to use.

Solar is 99ยข in the iTunes store.

12 thoughts on “Solar: A Stunning New Weather App for Your iPhone and iPad

  1. This looks fabulous. I love the colours and the idea of having a few cities saved on one app. I’m busy trying to figure out a cool little tool called TripIt which auto organisers your travel itinerary. I’m also lookig for asomething similar OneNote which I use a lot at work. I have Evernote on my tablet but doesn’t have the tabs and sub tab kind of set up that OneNote has – so if you come across anything… I hope you are well ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks for the heads up about TripIt! I just took a peek and I’m going to try that out, thanks. As for Notes and Calendars and Lists … that is a huge shifting field. I’m always keeping my eyes and ears open, tho! Thanks again for the travel app suggestion ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I do the same! And my sons live on different sides of the country, so I always keep their cities “handy” to check how the weather is where they live. Makes me feel a little closer to them. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yes, there is, but it took a while before I found it, too. ๐Ÿ™‚
      To delete a city: Double tap so you see a tiled version with four cities. Touch a city and hold it. The cities will start to throb and an “X” will appear in the corner. Tap the “x” and the city will disappear. Tap done. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Just double tap your city and you will see smaller tiles of your cities. Touch and hold the one you want to delete. A small “x” will appear for you to tap and delete. ๐Ÿ™‚

I'd love to hear what you think!

