How To Use the Built-In Dictionary on Your iPhone and iPad

photo credit: jovike via photo pin cc

When you updated your iPhone and iPad to iOS5 several months ago, you may have missed this: There is a built-in dictionary in your device that you can access from almost anywhere.

For the purpose of my example, I used Notepad, but you can also get the definition of a word in an email, a blogpost, a news story … almost anywhere.

Here is a sentence typed with notepad:

When you come across a word and you would like to see its definition, just ‘touch-and-hold’ and then ‘release’ the word for a moment.

A small menu will appear, with several choices. Tap on “define” .

Tap “define” and up pops the dictionary definition.

Since I am in the habit of using the built-in dictionary within the Kindle app, I now use this built-in dictionary quite often, as well. It’s just a matter of knowing that it is there….and then remembering to use it! 🙂

7 thoughts on “How To Use the Built-In Dictionary on Your iPhone and iPad

  1. Once again, I have learned something valuable on your site! I love your posts! I’m a bit shy to admit this, but I haven’t updated my phone to the ios 5 yet. In the Fall, I had a glitch on my phone and I lost a ton of data. I’ve been afraid if I do the update, that will happen to me again. Maybe I’ll take the plunge today. 🙂
    Christina

  2. Before my dad passed away, if I came across a new word or one I was not to sure about, I’d text him and before I knew it I ‘d get a whole definition back. Now he’s gone I rely on the definition tool on my tablet. Not quite the same as getting a text from my daddy but very useful all the same 🙂

    • Ha! I agree!! Some of those “corrections” can be very entertaining. Did you know that you can turn that off? I wrote about that a few weeks ago. Here is a link to that post to show you how to turn off your autocorrect: How to Turn Off Autocorrect
      And thank you for visiting and taking the time to leave a comment! Much appreciated! 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

