How to Get Book Samples: Fabulous, Fun and FREE

photo credit: Carlos Porto via photo pin cc

I love books. I love to read. I read a LOT.

Technology continues to improve the experience in many ways. One of the most delightful enhancements is the ability to read samples of books.

These samples are usually a sizable chunk of the beginning of the book, including at least the first chapter, sometimes more. While I used to make my book selections based on reviews or summaries on a book jacket, I can now (at my leisure) browse through significant pieces of text before committing to my read.

When I hear of an interesting book through the news or a recommendation, I download the sample immediately. You can get a good feel of the book by starting with a sample. Or perhaps conclude that the book is not for you.

And …. these samples are FREE.

All you need is the Kindle App on your device. It’s also free and you can download it from the iTunes store. (If you own a Kindle and you haven’t downloaded samples, just follow these same directions and use the Kindle as your choice on the Amazon book screen.)

You will also need to register your device with Amazon, and set up an account. They will walk you through that process when you get started with the app.

With a Kindle app, and a registered Amazon account, you are ready to go.

Head over to Amazon, and navigate to a book that you are interesting in.

For this example, I am showing you the Amazon screen for the book (my all time favorite!) Pillars of the Earth.

There will be several choices available for purchasing the book. You must highlight “Kindle Edition”.

As long as you are signed into your Amazon account, and you have highlighted “Kindle edition”, you will see two boxes over on the right. The upper box is to be used if you plan to purchase the book, the LOWER box is the one that will send you the sample.

All you have to do is click that box. Since you are registered, your device name is visible in the window of the box, and the text will say that it will send the sample to: “name of your device”.

Just click. That’s it.

Now go to your smartphone or tablet or computer and open the Kindle App.

Take a look …. on your device page, you should see (within minutes) the sample of the book you just selected. There will be a little banner across the corner that says “Sample”.

Go ahead and get another. And another. You might find yourself feeling a bit like a kid in a candy store. πŸ™‚

18 thoughts on “How to Get Book Samples: Fabulous, Fun and FREE

  1. This is such a great idea. How often don’t you buy a book only to discover it is really very horrible? I wish I’d had a sample of the Broken Tea Glass (recently read). It was nice written and the idea was quite clever but it really was quite boring. Had I had a sample of it, I would have found this out before purchasing it. Think I might check out a couple of those above πŸ™‚

    • I agree. I use the samples ALL the time. I have gobbled up some books based on the first few chapters … and I have discarded others, happy that I didn’t waste my time and $ on the full book. And sometimes, I don’t really want to read the book, maybe I’m just curious, and the sample satisfies that, too. πŸ™‚

    • The opportunity to pre-read book portions before you buy is just too awesome not to share! I love books and this extends the pleasure. Thank you so much for your kind words. πŸ™‚

  2. Okay I’ll admit it here. I have been having a love affair with my kindle for almost two years, a christmas gift from my adult children it’s something I wouldn’t have purchased for myself. A true dyed-in-the-wool bookoholic. But it seems my kids know me pretty well, within days of receiving it I was intimately attached to my kindle. It became an appendage. Your analogy is precisely true, a kid in a candy store. Yes indeed! Excellent Post today! I enjoyed it very much! πŸ™‚

    • Oh, me too! me too! I just love my kindle. I’m reading more than ever, and I have always been a big reader. I’m so glad to connect with someone who feels as passionate as I do! πŸ™‚

      • You’ll get this then. When I realized that with a click of a few buttons I could instantly look for and acquire most anything I was searching for and more, I really felt almost a sense of guilt, because it was so darn easy for the “reading gratification” that has been such a huge part of my life. Sort of a “guilty pleasure” kind of feeling. πŸ™‚

          • πŸ™‚ yes, on an aside which I think you’ll also agree, I love preusing the used and innovative bookstore shelves searching for new treasures, I still do, another part of the whole book loving experience. Today when so many days are so busy the kindle allows the wonders of reading to continue when there isn’t the time to go search out books!

I'd love to hear what you think!

