Yes, You Can! Return A Kindle eBook

photo credit: adafruit via photo pin cc

Another reason to love my Kindle. Returns! Not that I’ve ever used it, but it makes me feel warm and fuzzy to know that such a customer-friendly feature exists.

With the ability to get free samples (my post about that is here), it is unlikely that you will be saddled with a book that you just can’t bear to read.

BUT .. it is possible with the one-click buying option, that you just might accidentally buy a book that you didn’t plan to buy. The buying box is directly above the sample box, and if you’re not paying attention……… 🙂

Amazon allows you to return your eBook within 7 days of purchase.

(Personally, I think this is incredibly generous. An unscrupulous e-reader person could take advantage of that wide window of time. If I was the person in charge of making the decision, I probably would have made a 3 day limit. But happily for Amazon’s consumers, I am in no way affiliated and so their liberal policy stands at 7 days.)

Here is how to return your eBook:

Navigate to Amazon’s “Manage My Kindle” page.

Hover your cursor over the “Actions” button.

A menu will drop down. If it is within 7 days since you bought the book, the option “Return for Refund” will be part of this menu. (After 7 days, that option will no longer appear.)

Select “Return for Refund” and follow the prompts. If you are using a Kindle app, the same process applies.

13 thoughts on “Yes, You Can! Return A Kindle eBook

    • There have been times in life when I might have taken advantage of this, but now I have changed my habits, and always read the sample first …. so by the time I actually buy the book, I’m already hooked! 🙂

  1. I’m amazed. As I first starting reading, the first thing that went through my mind was that a very quick reader could finish the book and then return it. Then you say it’s 7 days, well, even a slow reader can finish it in that time. Maybe they keep an eye out for repeat returns?

    • Truly, I’m amazed too, and if I were in charge of making that policy, I don’t think I would! Perhaps ….. another amazing thought …. people are basically honest and NOT taking advantage of the generous 7 days? And as you said … maybe they keep an eye out for repeaters. 🙂

    • Thank you kindly! I am way overdue on replying to awards (they are forming a queue! … I’m so fortunate). I do appreciate it and will act on it as soon as I can. 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

