Tech Trivia: The Very First YouTube Video

photo credit: RayMorris1 via photo pin cc

I have always enjoyed history … origins, old architecture, historic places, and beginnings.

If you think about it, we are actually LIVING the beginning of all things internet. While this may be very recent history, it is history.

Everything has to start sometime. We all enjoy falling into YouTube now and then. (Two recent YouTube related posts are here and here.) But when did YouTube start? What was first?

Let’s look wayyyyyyy back in time to 2005.

Specifically, April 23, 2005.

Here it is. The very first YouTube video. It’s title is “Me at the zoo” and it is just 18 seconds long.

Pretty underwhelming. But it is the first. And that makes it special.

19 thoughts on “Tech Trivia: The Very First YouTube Video

  1. It’ so weird, that we are so dependent on the internet and emails and yet they have been around for such a short time. Now I cannot do any work unless I have my laptop with internet access. I didn’t start working this way – we thought we were lucky to have fax machines

    • That’s so true! When my oldest son started college he told me that he would be emailing papers to professors. I thought that was ridiculous. Of course I was completely wrong. My husband is a professor himself, and all of the students’ papers are now turned in digitally. Things have changed so fast!

    • That’s what I always wonder. What’s next, indeed. Jeff Bezos (Amazon creator) has famously referred to our use of the internet as “Day One.” Makes you think! 🙂

  2. Gosh I think I’m history in the making, learned to type on a manual typewriter, then electric, followed by electronic, word processers and then onto the jolly old computer. So much technology so quickly!

  3. I just love it! Sometimes technology frustrates me because I feel like we just never disconnect. There’s always some gadget nearby calling for my attention. But the fact that it opens up the entire world for me, I wouldn’t change it for the world!

I'd love to hear what you think!

