Weekend Distraction: Wordsplosion, A New and Simple (Yet Satisfying) Word Game

Wordsplosion was just released a few days ago, and as I always do, I grabbed it quickly. I’m always on the lookout for a good word game. I have several favorites which I’ll eventually share on this blog. But since this is the newest addition, I’ll probably be fiddling with Wordsplosion throughout the weekend.

A simple premise. Kind of Hang-man like. You’ll need to guess a word, given only a single letter. With each guess, you are told if any of your chosen letters appear in the word (even if in a different spot). And so, guess by guess, you will try to determine the word.

It is surprisingly difficult to guess. There is a timer, so you’ll feel a little pressure. But there is also a hint button which adds another letter to the puzzle and that is a BIG help. I try not to use it unless I’m totally stumped, but I have had to press it several times. I think that’s a good thing. The difficulty of this game is just enough to keep me coming back. Not too easy, yet not so hard that I get frustrated.

This game is FREE (hurray!) but it is supported by ads. There is an advertising video for about 15 seconds when you first launch the ap, and after that, the ads settle in up at the top of the screen. You can see these ads on my screen shots for this blogpost. They are not too intrusive, and I think that playing this free version is perfectly fine.

But if you want to eliminate the ads, you can do that by purchasing the game for $2.99.

For now I’m sticking with the free version.

Wordsplosion for iPhone and iPad: free in the iTunes store

12 thoughts on “Weekend Distraction: Wordsplosion, A New and Simple (Yet Satisfying) Word Game

  1. I wish I could play the computer games……as I like word games. Do a lot of crosswords at the breakfast table. Somehow I just can’t seem to get going with games on the computer. But I like reading about them. 🙂

    • It’s funny, but I never played games on the computer, either. Somehow the phone or the tablet (with the touch screens) just make it more game-friendly! I’m so glad you’re here. 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

