Do Not Operate This Machinery (anything Tech) When You Are Not Fully Alert!

photo credit: °Florian via photo pin cc

If you are a subscriber of mine, you probably noticed that I published a post about 12 hours ago, but when you clicked on it, you were brought to a “this page doesn’t exist” page.

Here is what happened.

I was working on my post about the most recent round of awards. I knew I was very late in acknowledging the wonderful bloggers who nominated me, and I was feeling the pressure. I wanted to put together a good and thorough post, and get it up over the weekend.

But I was tired. I’m a morning person, and I was working on this at night. Anyone who has put together an award post knows that it takes a lot of tweaking, including links and images, etc.

Several times I hit “Preview” to see how it was looking.

But through my sleepy haze, I hit the wrong button …. I hit Publish.

Panic!!!

The post was incomplete, and now it was “out there”. Yikes!!

I quickly “copied” the whole thing (to hopefully save myself from having to do a complete re-write), and then I went to “edit” and “trashed” it.

With that action I gave my readers the “page does not exist” page. Although…. I do think it is possible that some people may have received the incomplete post. Sloppy, sloppy me. I apologize if you received that bit of glop.

A lesson learned ….. Don’t do computer things when you are tired!!!

This made me think of other errors, like the famous email “send” to the wrong person. Ouch. This is bad enough in a personal situation, but at work, well, it could mean your job.

Two recent email goofs came from very public sources.

Last December the New York Times sent out an email to 8.6 MILLION people instead of the 300 subscribers it was meant for. Sent by an employee, it created of flurry of troubles and worries about hacking, spam and security. You can read about it here.
It was nothing more than an error. A “pushed the wrong button” kind of error.

Another famous email blunder happened just a few months ago at the Eastern Michigan University. A message that was meant for 100 students was sent out to the ENTIRE student body. The message? It was a notification that due to poor academic performance, the student was dismissed from the University. Out. Kaput. Gone. Vamoose.

Imagine the panic when students saw that email arrive in their mailboxes! The President issued an apology and it was determined to be an error (oops). You can read the entire text of that frightful email here.

So …. bottom line….. be careful what you do online when you are not up to par.

The results could be really, really messy. 🙂

21 thoughts on “Do Not Operate This Machinery (anything Tech) When You Are Not Fully Alert!

  1. I would never ever do anything like this. LOL

    Fortunately if one of my blog posts goes out…….a bit early…..my readers would just think it was more of my mixed up stuff. 🙂

    It really does pay to have an unserious blog.

    Anyway, you are forgiven for being sloppy and gloppy.

  2. I’m so with you on this! I happen to be another morning person and I also happen to be insomniac. This led to a flawed statement about statistical methods, which I posted at 3am a few weeks ago and then apologised for. Mea culpa. Imo it’s no bad thing to make mistakes in public! It’s quite endearing.

  3. I have had WordPress publish a post when I’m in the middle of typing up a post. One of the arrow buttons seems to initiate this for some inexplicable reason so I have to be very cautious when I’m typing directing into WP. Also, back in June WP was really…buggy? A couple of times WP deleted a post when I hit Save Draft. As a result, I tend to draft my posts in Word now and paste in the text.

    • I agree with you … I feel safer when I draft the post first. However, last night I was up to the point of adding all the links, so there I was, adding and previewing to make sure they worked. But I was getting drifty, and whoosh. There it went. I wish I could blame it on WordPress, but it was completely my muddle. Good to know I’m not alone with a half-done post published. Thanks for that! 🙂

    • Ha! Coffee used to be my best friend until my heart started to object. Now I have to power on with as little caffeine as possible. Good to know I’m not the only one making mistakes, tho! Thanks for sharing that. 🙂

  4. I’m one of the ones that got that message. I’ve had it before, so didn’t think it was your fault. I thought maybe if I waited, the post would come up. I do exactly what you do – keep checking preview as I go. Couple of days ago I also posted by mistake. Luckily for me, the post was nearly finished so I just let it be. Didn’t know how to stop it anyway. I’m sure we’ve all been there. Well, I hope so and that it’s not just the two of us 🙂

    • I kind of panicked last night, but today I’m feeling much better as kind souls (like YOU) have reassured me that others make this mistake, too. Thanks so much for your kind words.

  5. Daniela says:

    Oh how I know that feeling … as I am not all that savvy when it comes to things technological, I am always rather careful, still it was long ago I sent an email (at work) to many people who could not understand what I was about! It all turned out OK on the end, but it did take some explaining!
    I love your writings.
    Daniela

    • Oh, I’m sure you felt a bit of panic when you realized you sent the email to the wrong people. I’m so glad it all worked out ok. Thank you for your kind words. 🙂

  6. Great advice! Some things definitely shouldn’t be done by email!
    I too hit publish instead of preview once… tired and under a little stress that day… I remedied it exactly as you did, and a couple of people did tell me my followers received email notices. Needless to say, I’m very careful now – but heartened to know I’m not the only one who’s done that! (You’re forgiven)

  7. At least you have an excuse. I just randomly hit the publish button every now and then. I try to act like a cat…you know…with one of those “I meant to do that looks.” But I’m not fooling anyone. I admire your honesty. You’re one of us….HUMAN!!

    • Oh, you’re so sweet! Thank you for your kind words. I truly panicked when I hit that button. 🙂 I appreciate your comment very much. I laughed with your “I meant to do that” look! Act “as if” and maybe it will be so!

I'd love to hear what you think!

