Kindle Paperwhite is On The Way: “Head of the E-Reader Pack”

The Kindle Paperwhites are shipping today!

…and the e-reader-interested internet is a-buzzin’.

The first reviews are hitting the internet and they are overwhelmingly positive.

Mashable claims it is “the best e-ink reader that you can buy“.

Tech Crunch titles their review “The Kindle Paperwhite is a Reader’s Dream.

And CNET, a highly respectable source (always my #1 go-to) says that the “Kindle Paperwhite has jumped to the head of the e-reader pack. It may not be perfect, but it’s definitely the Kindle a lot of people have been waiting for.”

I am scheduled to receive mine, today. It’s on the delivery truck. I’m excited but a bit apprehensive because I hated the Touch model. Has the touch capability improved? I sure hope so. I wouldn’t have bothered to upgrade from my keyboard model except for the lure of that lit screen.

I’m anxious to get it in my hands and give it a test drive. Stay tuned …… 🙂

13 thoughts on “Kindle Paperwhite is On The Way: “Head of the E-Reader Pack”

  1. I think I know what I’m asking Santa for this year. Thanks for the great links. I read (and watched) all of them, and I’m really eager to see what YOU think when yours arrives. I actually prefer touch screens, myself, as the dang buttons on my Kindle are so small. Plus all the lettering has rubbed off, making it hard for me to know which letter is which. (I must have really sweaty fingertips!) And for the first time, I understand what e-ink means, even though I knew it referred to the fact that there was no backlighting.

    I WAS a bit confused at the video where the guy from CNET kept referring to this version as being “backlit…from the FRONT.” Huh? But I think I have it all figured out now, seeing the LED lights pictured on another of your helpful links. I think this one is going to be fun.

    BTW, for my current Kindle, I got one of those covers sold on amazon that has a built in light. It has been very handy, but is wearing out, and I was wondering what I was going to replace it with. Perhaps with a whole new KINDLE! Great post, SC!

    • About those touch screens….. I love the touch screen on my iPad, but the Kindle one wasn’t nearly as responsive, and sometimes it acted just plain weird, skipping forward or backward in odd clumps of pages. I’m hoping this touch screen is WAY better than their first! As for the light …. won’t it be great to have the screen lit this way? I can’t wait to see it! 🙂 Thank you for your thoughtful comment!!

  2. Bang up to date again, I haven’t got a kindle so cant comment but sometime in the future I think there will be room in my household for one so I’m really interested in your comments. Thanks

  3. Hi SC,
    I’ll be interested to read what you have to say about it once you use it. I still have an old old version that a friend gave me. I love it still. I have an ipad and iphone for when I am not outside reading, which is most of the time. Thanks for all your great information.

I'd love to hear what you think!

