Don’t Overlook the Obvious: The Simple Solution is Sometimes the Best

photo credit: Piero Sierra via photopin cc

Take a look at my tag line …. Everyday Tech for Everyday Folks. It really does sum up the nature of this blog. ( Full credit to my daughter-in-law for the tag line. ๐Ÿ™‚)

Let me highlight: Everyday Folks. That includes me.

Although people have kindly complimented my skills, I am not a tech wizard, just an ordinary soul enhancing my life with the glory of these gadgets.

Which brings me to my story:

Last night, just before I settled in with my new Kindle for a good long read, I popped open my iPad to check on some emails, and dawdle through a game or two.

However, when I tried to play my game of choice, I had no sound. I tried another with no success.

But I was tired, and figured I’d troubleshoot in the morning, and so I closed it up, set it aside, and spent the rest of the evening reading on my Kindle.

Morning came, and when time allowed, I settled down with my iPad suddenly remembering that the night before I had no sound.

I never panic when my Apple devices misbehave, because I know that if the problem does not resolve, I can make an appointment at an Apple store and let an Apple “Genius” solve my problem. But it is still a bit unnerving (because they usually work with no troubles at all).

I calmly set about doing the things I know how to do (because I am so clever ๐Ÿ™‚ ).

I closed all the running apps.

Still no sound.

I restarted the iPad by holding down the sleep/wake button until the red “slide to power off” slider appeared, then waited a few minutes and started it up again.

Still no sound.

I reset the iPad by holding down the sleep/wake switch and the home button at the same time until the Apple logo appeared.

Still no sound.

At this point I figured I would try a browse through the Apple support boards. I found a few suggestions on what to try (although I am always very cautious about grabbing advice off the internet.) It was mentioned to try all of the things that I had already tried. (Because I’m so clever ๐Ÿ™‚ )

I was reconciled to the thought that I would have to head over to Apple sometime during the weekend.

Then I saw one thing I hadn’t tried.

Someone suggested flipping the mute button back and forth. On and off.

OK, I thought. That can’t hurt anything.

I started to give it a try.

and then …. yes …. you guessed it.

I realized that in my eagerness to solve the puzzle, I had never checked the SIMPLEST solution.

The Mute button was on.

Good Grief.

If I had made an appointment with an Apple Genius only to find out that my mute button was on …. well, I would deserve any stereotyping of “older people” that anyone would want to throw at me.

Lesson learned: When dealing with tech stuff (and probably “life” as well) always START with the simplest solution.

It can save you a lot of trouble (and embarrassment!).

37 thoughts on “Don’t Overlook the Obvious: The Simple Solution is Sometimes the Best

  1. This is such a wonderfully thoughtful post! I love the wisdom of the โ€˜trying the simple solution firstโ€™ with gadgets and in life โ€ฆ it is so true! I know you think of yourself as an ‘everyday person’ who simply loves gadgets and share this love and knowledge about them with us all โ€ฆ but I do have to say that if you are an โ€˜every dayโ€™ person in that area than likes of me could only be called โ€˜stone age personโ€™ when comes to gadgets! I have a laptop and cell (no, not even a smart phone -:))), and my biggest โ€˜technological achievementโ€™ was setting up my blog all by myself!
    Kind Regards,
    Daniela

    • Daniela, I think there are a whole lot of people in your latest writing workshop who are floored by your tech skills as a blogger! Stone age, indeed! You’re a Diamond, only! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hi Everyday Person!
    And that is why I come back to your blog…….although I don’t have all those gadgets. You give more than just tech solutions. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I would rather have an everyday person help me. I know some of those. And we sit and have fun trying to figure out things. We laugh at our mistakes and are happy to help each other. Sometimes two SIMPLE people can figure out a Simple Solution. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Such a funny post and so incredibly true. I remember a friend phoning me in a panic because her printer wasn’t working. I asked her to check that it was plugged in. She responded in an appropriately annoyed manner, telling me that “of course it’s plugged in”. Knowing my friend, I asked her if the plug was switched on. Silence. She’s never forgotten her panic over a broken piece of techno gadgetry that simply wasn’t switched on! ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. I totally love your take on tech. It is so much easier to read than normal techy stuff, and who hasn’t had problems as simple as a mute switch or plugging in the computer!!! OK I have had those problems!!

    • Awww, Nicole, thank you! I’m just glad I didn’t take myself to the Apple store with a mute-button-on. THAT would have provided entertainment for the Apple employees!

      • I bet it would give them a chuckle.

        My 4th gen iPod nano is giving me headaches and I’ve tried all the usual fixes, but I have a feeling it is just getting down to the end of it’s life cycle.

        I am debating whether I should take it to an Apple store, yet intimidated I’ll get laughed at for trying to salvage this 4 yr old product.

        Am also ticked w/ Apple because after the last software upgrade to my nano, I now get a message that my Jensen home speaker/charging dock is an “unsupported device”. Grrr!!!! I should attempt a factory restore, but just haven’t made the effort yet. I dare say I’m learning to get by without my iPod.

        • I remember getting that “unsupported device” message, also, an update or two ago on my speaker. I’m still doing a work-around for that. Since I don’t use it for charging, only the speaker, I plugged in an audio cord (the kind that has two male ends) into the lineout hole on the speaker and into the earphone jack on my iPhone and/or iPad (whichever I am using) and it works just fine. ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe that would work for you? Although it doesn’t help with the charging issue. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I'd love to hear what you think!

