Weekend Distraction: Enjoy Browsing Through These Food Network Recipes

I often share a word game or puzzle app of some sort for the Weekend Distraction, but this week, I’m sharing something a little different. I recently downloaded this app from the Food Network, and I find myself drawn back to it again and again.

Distracting, it is! And inspiring… this app makes me want to, uh, make stuff! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

You can sort by Chefs, and by Collections, with special Holiday suggestions thrown in.

Here is the current page of Halloween suggestions, with “devilish desserts”, “sinister snacks” and “spooky suppers”. This makes me wish my children were young again, what fun this would be!

There are many Collections to explore: Italian, Brunch, Appetizers, Kid-Friendly, Vegetarian, Quick & Easy, Fan Favorites, Healthy .. and more.

Here I pulled up a recipe for Lasagna Rolls. Each recipe is coupled with a photo, and complete recipe goodness. You also have the opportunity to read reviews for the recipe, and another tab allows you to add your own notes.

You can also change the font size. This is extra helpful if you are using your iPad in the kitchen and you want to read the recipe from a distance. There are also a large number of instructional videos to help you learn new skills or polish old ones.

And there are tools. Converters and timers.

I really enjoy the timers. You have multiple timers to help you manage multiple dishes. This is hugely helpful when planning a large family meal or dinner party.

Food Network In the Kitchen is $1.99 in the iTunes store.

18 thoughts on “Weekend Distraction: Enjoy Browsing Through These Food Network Recipes

  1. A Dog With Fleas says:

    Thanks for sharing this, and have already purchased and downloaded!! Will definitely come in handy this time of year.

      • A Dog With Fleas says:

        Exactly!! Actually just tonight I did a search on the Internet for a recipe on how to do something different with flounder. So it will be so great to have this app at the touch of my fingers!

        • oooo … I like flounder πŸ™‚ Sometimes you just need something different to dress up a meal and make it interesting. I’m an internet-recipe searcher, too, but this is fun to have, as well. πŸ™‚

  2. Oh Food Network – always good for filling up my time! Actually I don’t watch it as much as I used to but this app looks pretty cool. I still think you should make one of the Halloween desserts, kids or no kids.

I'd love to hear what you think!

