How to Ask Siri to Read Your Text Messages to You

Siri can read your text messages to you.

This can be very handy if you are in a situation where you just can’t look at your phone. (Perhaps, for instance, the road would be a better place for your eyes.)

(And sometimes it is just plain fun to use.)

If you have some unread text messages, hold down the home button until Siri asks how she can help.

Say:

“Do I have any new messages?”

or

“Read me my messages”

Siri will then read you all your unread messages, telling you (of course) who sent each one.

When she is done reading, she will ask you if you would like to reply or if you would like to hear her read them again.

At this prompt, you can say “No, Thank you” (I’m always polite with Siri πŸ™‚ )

or

“Read again”

or

“Reply ‘blah blah blah'”

14 thoughts on “How to Ask Siri to Read Your Text Messages to You

    • Oh, she’s a cagey one. I did as you suggested and asked her to fetch my slippers. She tells me she doesn’t understand what that means, but she’s willing to search the web for it. (Between you and me, I think she just doesn’t want to be bothered. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ )

  1. Oh what I fun I can envision if I have that lady reading me out loud texts sent from my daughter … I would love to hear her try and decipher it!
    Cheers!
    Daniela

I'd love to hear what you think!

