How to Update iOS6 to 6.0.1: (and my troubles getting it done)

photo credit: Mai Le via photopin cc

I have a love/hate relationship with updates. I usually love what they do, but I HATE to do the deed.

(I think I suffer from post-traumatic (update) stress brought on by the “blue screens of death” in the 80’s.)

But I am faithful to my Apple products. They release the update, and I do the updating.

They have recently released 6.0.1 for the iPhone and iPad. I have not experienced any of the bugs that it is supposed to fix, but it is a good idea to do the updates as they are released. You don’t want to fall too far behind.

Here is what they say it will do:

This update contains improvements and bug fixes, including:

• Fixes a bug that prevents iPhone 5 from installing software updates wirelessly over the air
• Fixes a bug where horizontal lines may be displayed across the keyboard
• Fixes an issue that could cause camera flash to not go off
• Improves reliability of iPhone 5 and iPod touch (5th generation) when connected to encrypted WPA2 Wi-Fi networks
• Resolves an issue that prevents iPhone from using the cellular network in some instances
• Consolidated the Use Cellular Data switch for iTunes Match
• Fixes a Passcode Lock bug which sometimes allowed access to Passbook pass details from lock screen
• Fixes a bug affecting Exchange meetings

You can update your devices over-the-air, or synced to your computer.

I usually sync to my computer, but I decided to try over-the-air.

I started with my iPhone 5.

Go to Settings > General > Software Update.

If you have an iPhone 4 or a 4S, you can hit download and install and you are good to go. Just be patient, agree to terms, and wait for your phone to finish it’s tasks.

BUT if you have an iPhone 5, after you tap on “software update” you will be prompted to download an “iPhone 5 Updater” first. You’ll be asked to download and install. Once that is complete, you can continue on.

You can get excellent directions for all of this from this post on iMore.

So, iPhone 5 in hand, I began to update over the air.

I don’t like to update over the air. But I want to be current. I try to keep up. 🙂

As explained above, with an iPhone 5 I had to do the updater, first.

It failed.

I failed.

My iPhone told me it couldn’t do it.

**flashback to 80’s blue screens**

I don’t know why, and I didn’t care to try to find out why. I just turned to my computer for a trusty sync and update and it worked flawlessly.

Whew. Crisis averted.

Update accomplished. All good.

Now it was time to update my iPad.

After my over-the-air fail with the iPhone, I decided to update the iPad on the computer.

I hooked it up and watched everything hum. Backing up, syncing, all Apple goodness.

And then came the critical point when the computer had to do some communicating with Apple.

At that precise moment, that very moment, my internet went down. I probably should not have been doing the updating considering all our electricity and internet infrastructure is so fragile after the Superstorm this week. But I did, and I lost the connection, and my iPad was kind-of bricked. GASP!

Here is where my faith in Apple kicked in. I took a deep breath, and plugged the iPad back into the computer. I was told that my iPad was in need of a RESTORE. That sounded scary, but with no other choice I told the computer to go ahead and do it.

Now, because the computer knew exactly what my iPad had on it, where everything was located on the screens, and all my contacts, music, videos, calendars, etc, etc, etc, well, my iPad was completely re-constructed to exactly how it was before my dis-connect. It took a while, but all’s well.

And that’s why I like to sync with the computer. It makes me feel safe. I like that. I do not like risk.

(FYI: If you are a person who has ‘cut the cord’, you can also restore from iCloud.)

This was the first time I ever had troubles updating. I was tired, my internet was sketchy, and I probably should have waited.

But it all worked out. And I guess that’s why I love these devices.

For now, although I download my apps over-the-air, I am going to keep syncing the old fashioned way (with my computer) for a while longer. It feels so secure.

If you are ‘computer free’, I would enjoy any encouraging words you care to share. At some point I would like to cut the cord. But I’m just not ready, yet.

13 thoughts on “How to Update iOS6 to 6.0.1: (and my troubles getting it done)

  1. I am afraid to update. I never got my ipod to update to 5. Whatever as it crashed at the end everey time. Now my ipad wants to update and i decided to wait until i had time to deal with problems. Heaven only knows when that will be! But i should try as i have had some problems with the wifi connection and some other issues on an intermittent basis.

    • Years ago when I had an iPod Touch, (first generation), I did have some update troubles as it got older. But I have never had a moment’s trouble (until yesterday) updating my iPhones or iPads. I completely understand your fear … but when it works, it sure feels good to be done, and I think it is more likely for things to continue running smoothly when you keep things up to date. 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

