How to Add Snow to your WordPress Blog

Since this is a “tech” blog (well, actually a non-tech tech blog), I sometimes get asked some “how to” questions.

I appreciate the questions, because if one person has the question, probably LOTS of others do, too, and that’s what sharing is all about!

So, I was asked “how do you add snow?”

Many blogs at this time of the year are sporting snow, so lots of folks have gotten the job done, but if you would like to add some snow, and would like to know how to do it, here you go:

Go to your WordPress Dashboard.

Go to Settings > General.

Look down at the very bottom of the page.

You will see a box to check for snow. Check it, and save it.

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow! From Millan.Net

Screen shot 2012-12-04 at 6.22.52 PM

58 thoughts on “How to Add Snow to your WordPress Blog

  1. SC, you ROCK! I thought it was a screensaver on my computer malfunctioning, as I have one that looks very much like that. And I didn’t want it to do it, because it makes my taskbar misbehave. It never occurred to me to look for it in the dashboard. I’ll bet I hit it accidentally or something. I’m heading over there right now to make the snow STOP, at least for now.

    Thank you so much!!

      • It would be complicated, but I love snow. (And yes, I’ve lived in it before, several times, in Pennsylvania, and even a winter in Alaska.) I hate it in the city, though…it gets all dirty and sludgy, and it’s no fun to drive on. It HAS snowed here in central Florida once or twice in my lifetime. THAT’S seriously bad, since no one has chains or snow tires, and no experience in driving on icy roads. Disasters all around.

        As for the snow on the websites, it looks cool, but it screws up my computer. It flickers and the task bar bounces up and down, and it gets distracting. I’m not sure why. It’s a new computer. But it doesn’t like this effect much. Oh, well. It’s not for long, and I’ll just try to think of it as chilly weather, which I love.

              • I never got there, I’m afraid. Hope your whole city is festive. For the first time in my adult life, my house isn’t decorated yet, in any room, and me, the Ultimate Christmas fanatic. By now I usually have my 300+ Santa collection set up, two full-sized trees, and 3 smaller ones, and pretty much every square inch of space done, inside and out. The trees set us behind, but I’m starting today, anyway. At least get something up for my granddaughter to enjoy.

  2. I kept seeing snow on different WP pages. Thanks for posting this. I just previewed it on my blog, and I think I may wait until the weekend to activate. For one, the post I have up right now is the Weekly Travel Theme of HOT featuring a big blob of sunshine rays. Though humorous, it was weird to see snow flakes falling on the sunshine. I won’t be seeing any snow in person, so this novelty is interesting to me.

    • That’s so true, isn’t it? But I like it. It’s so simple, but yet dramatic. You do get used to it, though. Now what if they made one that was “raining cats and dogs” ? 🙂

  3. When I first saw the snow,I thought there was something wrong with my eyes–then some fellow from WordPress provided an email which explained how to do it–so then I (and I am very proud of myself) started the snow. I did it for two reasons: 1.I love snow. 2. I want someone else to think they are seeing spots like I did cause that is just how I roll (lol).

  4. So that’s how that is done..!!! At first I thought some of the blogs had dandruff…or my computer had random blinking pixels or something….Now I understand that it is all intentional. Gosh what a relief.!! I thought for a minute Santa was going to have to bring me a new computer this year——and I haven’t really been THAT good!!!

I'd love to hear what you think!

