How to Gift a Kindle Book

Books are a favorite gift for all gift-giving reasons, and at this time of the year, book sales go way up.

But what if the person you are gifting uses a Kindle?

If you have readers on your gift list who are doing most of their reading on a Kindle, you might consider buying them an e-book for the holidays.

Of course you could always go the gift-card route, and let them choose their own, but that is not the object, here. We want to give our recipients a special e-book, one that we have chosen just for them.

So what do you do if you have a particular book in mind that you want to share with the Kindle-reader in your life?

Easy-breezy.

Here is how you can “gift” a Kindle book:

Sign in to your Amazon account.

Navigate to the book that you want to give as gift. For the purpose of this example, I selected “Pillars of the Earth”. You’ll see a list of many ways that the book is offered.

Make sure you highlight KINDLE EDITION on the book choices.

Screen shot 2012-12-09 at 9.24.06 AM

Once you have indicated that you are interested in the KINDLE EDITION, look on the upper right side of the screen. You will see this button: “Give as a gift”

Screen shot 2012-12-09 at 9.24.52 AM

Click on “Give as a Gift” and you will be taken to the order page (captured below), which will allow you to add your own message and choose WHEN you want the gift delivered via email to your recipient. So, you can buy it now, and request that it be delivered on Christmas Day, or on a Birthday, or whatever. (Handy!)

You also have the option to have the email delivered to yourself, so that you can wrap it up or send it in the mail or present it in person to your gift-ee.

Screen shot 2012-12-09 at 1.46.28 PM

**Thanks to Katie at Ipad Investigation for pointing out that this service is not available on the UK website. I can’t imagine why not, but ……

23 thoughts on “How to Gift a Kindle Book

  1. More and more of my friends do use Kindle – ’cause they’re cool like that – and this is a wonderful gift idea (that I can purchase while my big bottom sinks comfortably into my easy chair with golden oldies playing on solid gold Sunday on the radio.

    • I enjoy oldies, too. I just went to a concert of an “oldie” last night. But he is probably a lot older than the oldies you are listening to….. Neil Sedaka. He’s probably aged out of the oldies and is settling into the “antique” category. (He was delightful). πŸ™‚

  2. One thing to mention – if your recipient does not like the book, they can return it to Amazon and get a credit to something else. Unfortunately, that’s how I found out my sister was no longer reading fiction. She was much happier picking out something else instead.

    Nancy

    • I noticed they include that information at the bottom of the form that you fill out with your message, etc. In general, you can also return Kindle books that you purchase for yourself with a generous (I think) return policy. I did a post about that a while ago. Thanks for mentioning this!!!

  3. Annoyingly you still can’t do this on the UK Amazon store. So when I got my daughter a Kindle for her birthday, we had to get Amazon vouchers so she could order the books she wanted.
    You would think it wouldn’t be too hard to roll this service out to other countries!

    • That is ridiculous, don’t you think? It can’t be hard for them to do, and only benefits their bottom line… my goodness. I didn’t even consider that it wouldn’t be part of all Amazon locations. Thanks for bringing this to my attention! I added your information to my post, with full credit to you, of course. πŸ™‚

  4. I shop eBay . . . keep UPS and others in business. I ordered nine books from one seller, all one author. Cheap and free shipping – a few books were hardcover and all in good shape. They came well-packed in a large cardboard box – now I have to gift wrap the box for Christmas. Or, parcel the books out one by one, for various holidays, or after he’s finished one at a time. Does all this sound a bit out of touch? Well, if you visit my WP blog, you know I am pretty savvy – IMHO – but there’s the tactile sensation which comes with turning real paper, the secrecy stealing the little book light from my husband’s stash.
    There’s also the donation of books read to the library to help raise funds, or to exchange them with neighbors.
    I know you’ve heard it all before – and when Harley’s are all but considered relics and there are no more trees – iPad or Kindle here I come.

    • I shop ebay, too… and sell there, as well. Since forever. It’s changed a lot, but I still enjoy it. I do understand what you say about books. I honestly felt the same, and no one was more surprised than me when I completely embraced the e-reader as I have (for so many reasons!). I even ‘get around’ the exchanging with friends part. I’ve never read as much as I do now. I ‘get’ both sides, and I feel just a bit guilty about the negative impact on small bookstores. But.. times change, and the e-reader is now my preferred way to read. (Never rode on a Harley, but I’ll bet it is awesome!)

I'd love to hear what you think!

