Turn ANY Glove into a Touchscreen Glove

I am usually pretty excited to share just about everything that I do on this blog, but sometimes I get so excited that I’m downright giddy.

This is a giddy-post! From Millan.Net

It’s winter here in the northeast, and that means that many people are whipping their gloves on and off as they try to use their iPhones on a cold day. Gloves on, gloves off, on, off… you know the drill.

Of course you can buy touchscreen gloves. But have you tried to do that? Often you’ll find a regular glove you like, but it isn’t touchscreen friendly, or you might find the touchscreen gloves, but you just don’t like the feel or the style.

Here is the good great news: you don’t have to buy special gloves! Just get what you like.

You can turn ANY glove into a touchscreen glove. You can make your favorite pair of gloves work just fine with any of your devices.

And it only takes a few minutes.

Here is how you do it:

Get a little bit of special thread, called “conductive” thread. This is the tricky part. It is not that easy to find. Although I had heard that it was available in craft stores, I tried Walmart, AC Moore and JoAnns all with no luck. I turned to eBay, and bought 15 feet of it for $5.80. (This is far more than I’ll ever need. My daughters-in-law will probably find some in their Christmas stockings. Shhhh! Don’t tell! πŸ™‚ )

Sew a little patch of criss-crossed thread on the tip of the finger(s) that you use with your touchscreen. Make sure that your patch is wide enough on both the inside and the outside of your glove so that your finger has full contact with the thread.

That’s all there is to it! Here is a photo of my handi-work. Just a patch of thread, and now my glove works just fine with my iPhone. Yay!

Photo Skitch Document-1

35 thoughts on “Turn ANY Glove into a Touchscreen Glove

  1. I don’t even own a pair of gloves, so from that perspective, this won’t be much help to me. However, I find it really interesting, and I learned that there’s such a thing as “conductive thread.” Who knew?:

    As always, a fascinating post, SC!

      • Yeah, I vaguely remember those things from when I lived in PA. Hehe. It’s great for you guys. Down here, if my hands are cold, I’m digging for dinner in the freezer. *grin* But even though it’s not something I need, so far, I still think it’s really interesting. I never even thought about not being able to use your iPhone with gloves on. Here’s one for YOU, though. Did you know you can’t use it when you have SWEATED on it? Happens to me all the time. I end a long phone conversation, and I can’t disconnect because the screen is wet, and I have to dry it off before I can hang up. It won’t recognize my fingertip through the sweat any more than it will yours through the glove. πŸ™‚
        Now there’s a thought…..

    • And you get to use the gloves you like best. I’m so particular… I like them long, up my wrist, but light. Hard enough to find generally, but impossible with a touch finger. But it is not a problem any more! πŸ™‚

  2. Well now, that’s clever…!
    It’s Summer here in Oz, so I’ve got a few months to find this thread. The daughter is a mad keen touch screener; she’ll love it (and me, more); that’s gotta be good….!
    Lucky daughters-in-law…! πŸ˜‰

  3. Not that it ever gets ‘freeze your fingers off’ cold here, there are some mornings when one needs to cover the little paws. Being the very lazy thing that I am – finding the thread, buying it, sewing it on … I’ll probably just cut out a small hole in the glove if I need to πŸ™‚

    • Sometimes the simplest solution is the best solution…. πŸ™‚ But that little hole would allow too much cold air for me. And I’m sure I’d cut the wrong spot and unravel.

I'd love to hear what you think!

