Find a Movie with Flixster

Screen shot 2013-01-27 at 7.26.48 PMI didn’t know I needed a Movie App.

I felt quite comfortable (if I wanted to go and see a movie) just looking up my local theaters and seeing what they were showing.

But then my son suggested this app, and since the price was right (it’s FREE), I downloaded it at once.

And I must say … I’m delighted.

I don’t go to the movies very often, so I’m not “up to date” on what’s playing, or what’s hot, or what’s the next big thing. I really don’t know much.

But, when I DO want to see a movie, this app gives me everything I need, all in one place. Very very handy.

It shows me the theaters closest to me, and names the movies playing there. It shows the times, as well. It let’s me know all the showtimes for the coming week.

You can tap any movie and watch a trailer.

You can look at a list of the movies coming out next week, and the week after and the week after that.

You can read reviews of the movies, check ratings, learn about the actors and even find movies newly released on DVD.

Tapping on a movie shows you a screen like this. Scroll down the movie page for more information. Ratings by critics and ordinary folks are all included.

Photo Skitch Document-11

Looking ahead to see what movies are playing next week or the week after is as easy as a tap. Then you are presented with a screen like the one below. Movie list on the side, just tap any to get further information.

Photo Skitch Document-12

Very very handy to have all the information you need in one place. Flixster is free in the iTunes store. It is also available for Android, and Kindle Fire users can find this in the Amazon App store (also free).

16 thoughts on “Find a Movie with Flixster

  1. Thanks. I’m with you – I only go to the movies once every couple of years. So when the time comes, I’m lost these days, now that I don’t take a newspaper. I’ll use this, I’m sure!

  2. My, my, my; what will they think of next??? Probably everything…!!!
    Don’t blink; you’ll miss it..! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Technology astounds me, and the way it’s going soon it will ‘cook’ for me. Now isn’t that a great idea… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Hi Kathy,
    And I can’t walk into a theatre without buying the largest size, and eating MOST of it myself!!! Yikes!!! Come go to the movies with me, and I’ll treat you! Looks like a good ap. I tried to update my aps on my iPhone 4 the other day, and it told me I don’t have enough space. So I’m not sure about loading in more. I also noticed something today in a comment about trubl. “Gutenberg is nothing compared to Tuebl. Be patient though because they are in the middle of revamping the website so the searching is not working the best right now. Try browsing โ€“ you wonโ€™t believe how many books are on there. Now Iโ€™m not sure what format the Nook uses, but Tueblโ€™s books are all epub. If you need another format get the free program called Calibre.” http://jgburdette.wordpress.com/2013/01/21/changes-and-awards/#comment-3238

    I checked out trubl, and they are working on the site. Are you familiar with these? ๐Ÿ™‚ ML:)

  4. Since my favourite movie critic’s radio slot has been cancelled and I do love the movies, this sounds great. The release dates will probably not work for us down here but the reviews and ratings will be very useful.

I'd love to hear what you think!

