Is your iPhone (iPad) Sluggish? Give it a Clean Sweep.

photo credit: kaiton via photopin cc

photo credit: kaiton via photopin cc

Basically we need to do nothing to maintain our iPhones and iPads. They just chug along and work brilliantly. They entertain us, they remind us, they inform us, and they help us accomplish stuff.

But actually, they DO need a little maintenance sometimes. Some TLC (don’t we all? πŸ™‚ )

You see, when you open an app, and then leave it, it continues to run.

Before very long, you can have dozens of apps running in the background, slowing down your iPhone and/or iPad.

In order to prevent this from happening, you must periodically close all those running apps.

Here is how you do it:

Double click your home button.

Photo Skitch Document-19

Once you have double-clicked, you will see a line of apps appear across the bottom of your iPhone/iPad. If you swipe to the left, you will see there are LOTS of apps in that row.

Photo Skitch Document-17

This row of apps are all the ones that are currently running. The ones on the far left are ones you most recently opened. You can see that I last used Google Maps, played Words with Friends, tinkered with my Settings and looked at some photos.

So now…. let’s close them!

Put your finger on any one of those, and hold.

The icons will start to wiggle AND you will see a red minus sign on the upper left hand corner.

Photo Skitch Document-18

Now start tapping those red minus signs. By doing that, you will CLOSE the running app. Keep going until you have eliminated the entire row.

Then tap your home button one more time to return to your regular screens.

That’s it! Do this regularly to keep your iPhone and/or iPad from getting sluggish.

28 thoughts on “Is your iPhone (iPad) Sluggish? Give it a Clean Sweep.

  1. Well, the good news is, I’m not totally inept. The Home button is just what I thought it was. The bad news is that it does NOT let me double click it. No matter how fast or how slow I double click, I simply get the keyboard option. I don’t get any row of currently running aps. And if I double click it right off the bat, without swiping to unlock my phone, I get nothing at all. ?????

      • It’s about 3 years old, which is why I want to upgrade soon. And it definitely will not do this. I actually understood the post you linked to last night, but when it wouldn’t work, I though maybe I was calling something the “Home” button that really wasn’t. That’s why I wondered what you meant by “Home,” in case we were talking about 2 different things. So, just one more reason I need an upgrade. That and the fact that more than 2/3 of my memory is eaten up with the unidentified “Other.” If I could delete a bunch of that, it would probably run a lot better, but there isn’t a way that will work on my phone, apparently. I think there is nothing for it but to try to hang on until I can upgrade. Oh, and yes, my software gets updated every time I synch the phone with iTunes, which is often, so I can get my photos onto my computer. Thanks for the info, though. I will now know how to do this when I DO get a new phone.

        • Jose says:

          The way to know if your phone have this option is by the model you own. The iphone (first one) and the iphone 3G canΒ΄t do that, even the iphone 1 can’t be updated over iOS 3 and the iphone 3G can’t get over iOS 4 I think 4.2.1
          There are severeal things they cant do for example the 3GS record videos, have multitasking (the function that is commented in this blogs) while the 3G isn’t, even having the same iOS

  2. I like that picture of the broom. It reminds me of those pictures that bloggers are suppose to write a story about in 100 words or less. lol

    I can’t think of anything romantic about a broom, but I’m sure somebody could. πŸ™‚

  3. I do that after every app I use – when I remember. πŸ™‚ It also might help if you’re on a plan that charges you for usage. If an app is open and still running, your usage goes up. Found this out the hard way. πŸ˜€

  4. Haha, we don’t need to clean only our ipad but our minds need sweeping too sometimes…..airing and emptying. And as you say we all need our TLC. As I don’t have any i’s in my house, only real apples I don’t have a problem, but I would be happy if I could understand my phone more…. it keeps surprising me daily….:-) One day I will learn it….

I'd love to hear what you think!

