Weekend Distraction: Finger Piano for iPad

Screen shot 2013-02-08 at 10.42.40 AMThis app is just plain fun. It turns your iPad into a piano … and a darn good one, at that!

And you don’t have to know how to play the piano (actually, it’s probably really only fun for those who DON’T play the piano in real-life. 🙂 )

It comes with many Classic songs to play, with the option of using your right hand, left hand, and sometimes the option for two hands (if you are very talented).

The screen opens to the piano, and you have a few controls across the top. Tap ‘Songs’ and a large number of choices drop down.

Photo Skitch Document

Select your song and play away … or listen. If you tap the ‘play’ button, you can hear how the song should sound. Of course, your goal is to sound just as good. I’ll confess, I NEVER hit the play button. I just choose songs, and tap merrily on the keys. To my ears, I’m doing fine.

To play, scrolling guides come down from the top of the screen. Your job is to tap the key as the scroll-guide passes by it. A short note will be indicated by a tiny guide, while a longggggg note will have a longgggg guide.

Photo Skitch Document-1

Quite easy to follow, yet challenging enough to feel great when you get it right.

Truly this app deserves to be tagged a “distraction.” Quite absorbing!

There are a few other tweaks. You can select different instrument sounds, and you can alter the piano key size.

For even more fun, connect your iPad to a speaker, and you will be amazed at the music coming from your efforts on your own little (loud) electric piano.

I’m linking to the preview for Finger Piano for iPad, because this is the one that I have on my iPad and have used for a very long time. There are, however several other similar options available in the iTunes store by the same developer. Some of the other options put the Finger Piano on the iPhone, or allow you to buy other music ‘packs’. But since I have not personally experienced those other versions, I’ll only link to the one I’ve used. If you are interested in the others, just visit iTunes and do a simple search for “Finger Piano” (by the developer Junpei Wada).

Finger Piano is $2.99 in the iTunes store.

15 thoughts on “Weekend Distraction: Finger Piano for iPad

  1. i mentioned this to my husband about 20 minutes ago and have been regaled by piano already this morning … he found it was fun for a while, but then he does play piano in real life …i think the three year old might like to try it too … thanks for this fun tip!!!

  2. Just one more reason I wish I had an iPad. I’m missing out on so much FUN. *sniff*
    Oh, well. I’ll just be grateful for the computer, iPhone, and Kindle that I DO have. For now.
    🙂

  3. Your blog often makes me wish I had some of these devices….but so far I’m getting along fine with my dumb phone and netbook. Someday maybe I’ll get an ipad,,,or a kindle, maybe even a smart phone. And if I ever do I’ll have to go through all your old blogs to find out how to use it!

I'd love to hear what you think!

