I Got Stung by the Kindle Bug. Ouch.

Screen shot 2013-02-28 at 6.32.11 PMIt is important to keep your apps updated. Developers keep fine-tuning their apps, adding new things, or improving the old stuff.

If you are new to your iPhone or iPad, or if you need a refresher, you can read “How to Update the Apps on Your iPhone and iPad”.

Since I practice what I preach, I update. I probably push the update button every 3 or 4 days.

Unfortunately, this time my habit led to me being stung by a bug. Ouch. If I had delayed, even by just one day, I’d be fine. But no. I updated at just the wrong moment.

I use my Kindle app ALL the time. It is on both my iPhone and my iPad. If you are not familiar with it, please read more about it, here and here. (Remember, you don’t need a Kindle to read Kindle books. The Kindle app on your device is all that is necessary.)

Here is what happened:

The other day, I pushed the update button on my iPhone. Never gave it another thought.

The next day, when I went to open my Kindle App on my iPhone, I was met with a “register this app” screen. This was odd, because obviously I had registered it a long long time ago. This was my first signal that something was not right.

I registered (again) and it treated me as though I was a new user. In other words, there were no books on my iPhone. My on-phone library had been wiped clean. (I always keep about a half-dozen books on it.)

Now … this really and truly is not a big deal. All of your Kindle books are kept in the Cloud, and it is only a matter of tapping them to have them download back onto the phone. So this was absolutely nothing to be upset about. But it wasn’t right. An error. A mistake. A bug.

As soon as Amazon realized the bug, they quickly corrected it and put out a new update.

And so, I’m sharing this information with you for 2 reasons.

1. Just in case you updated your Kindle app during the “bug hours”, you’ll understand what happened and know there is no need for any hair-pulling.

2. Know that even when ‘stuff’ happens in an app, a responsible company will usually fix it quickly, and so a “wait and see” approach is often all that is needed on your part. No troubleshooting, just wait.

I updated my iPad after this fix was done (not during the bug hours), and I experienced no problems, whatsoever. So all is well, once again, in the world of the Kindle app. If you didn’t update during that short window of time, you’ll never know that something was amiss. 🙂

20 thoughts on “I Got Stung by the Kindle Bug. Ouch.

  1. Good to know. I did both recent updates, but hadn’t read anything on my kindle app to notice. I read in too many directions, so I missed the ‘bug’. Luckily. I would have freaked! I need to settle down. 😉

    • I update my apps, the iPhone and iPad and try to keep them up to date, but as for the regular computer in the house, I stand with you. Every time I have updated the OS or whatever else, all **!!#$%@^ broke loose. We still have a Windows computer in this house operating on 10 year old software (and it will die that way). 🙂

  2. I am so opposite. I update once in a while, and even when I do I cringe because I am afraid of things happening – because they do. In your case they did, but they didn’t really. Great post! 🙂

  3. Chancy the Gardener says:

    Stopped by to wish for you a nice weekend, hope you are feeling great and get to do just what you want to do all weekend. Thanks, for stopping by and viewing my bird pictures, Hugs, Mumsy

    • I try to live by the rule that when the computer acts weird, I walk away. It often gets better on its own. But the panic wells up anyway! I just try to ignore it. 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

