Weekend Distraction: iPoe – the Interactive and Illustrated Edgar Allan Poe Collection FREE for a limited time

Screen shot 2013-03-08 at 4.55.03 PM This is a winner. How could it not be? Edgar Allan Poe + great illustrations + spooky soundtrack + interactive elements + FREE = a great deal.

This app contains The Oval Portrait, The Tell-Tale Heart, The Masque of the Red Death and Annabel Lee. You can choose to read the stories in English, Spanish, or French.

I remember enjoying the suspense of Edgar Allan Poe many many years ago. I’ll admit I haven’t read any of his tales for a very long while. But this interactive book puts a fun spin on these old classics, and since it is currently free, I downloaded the book just for the enjoyment of an interactive book.

The illustrations are engaging, and the book looks wonderful on the iPad. Snowflakes falling, flames flickering, music and more  (it is suggested to listen with earphones to enhance the sound effects).

This short video will give you a real flavor of what you will get with app. (Caution: this interactive book is not for children)

The iPoe Collection is free for a limited time and will work on both the iPad and the iPhone.

5 thoughts on “Weekend Distraction: iPoe – the Interactive and Illustrated Edgar Allan Poe Collection FREE for a limited time

  1. OH, I’m in Heaven. I cut my teeth on Poe at the ripe old age of 11, I think. I was hypnotized by his way with rhymes before I got into his darker stories. The Raven and The Bells are still two of my favorite poems, and I have an unabridged collection of all his works on my bookshelf. But nothing like THIS. This is enough to make me want an iPad! I’m going to get it for my iPhone, for sure, IF it will work with my older model. If not…it might be just the excuse I need to get an update! Thanks, SC! Great post.

  2. As much as I would have like to, I didn’t ever finish a ‘Poe’ book… Think I’m just one of those people ‘ladysighs’ above is talking about….
    Great app though… a sure winner, and bound to be the forerunner for many others…

I'd love to hear what you think!

