Watch YouTube Videos Offline on your iPhone or iPad

Attention: as of May 2013, the ability to cache videos on this has been removed.

LATEST UPDATE: As of August 1, 2013, upon checking back with this app, the ability to cache videos has been RESTORED! Great news!

Screen shot 2013-03-14 at 10.43.24 AMWhen I look at my wordpress statistics, one of the most frequent google searches that brings people to my blog is a search looking for an app that will allow you to watch YouTube videos offline.

The awful thing about this is that I did that post wayyyyyyyy back, and named an app that would do the deed.

However, all things change, and that app no longer does it. And even worse, when they stopped doing it, their update wiped clean all the videos that were cached. Yikes. (That was a sad day.)

That post still exists, although I have put an update on it to point out that it no longer does the very thing I was applauding that it did.

But there is another! Hurray!

McTube will let you download videos to watch offline. I’ve tried it, I’ve used it, and it works great. If you are going to be offline for a while (like on a plane) just think ahead and download any YouTube videos that you would like to watch.

There is a free version and a pro version. The free version works just fine, but is loaded with ads. There is also a limit on the amount of video you can cache. I used the free version for a while, just to get used to it, and I was very happy. Videos downloaded quickly and played well. The ads, however, were flashy and annoying.

I decided to plop down $1.99 and get the pro version. Updating to the pro version actually downloads a whole new app, and therefore any videos you have already downloaded do not carry over to your new version. So if you think this app is something that you will enjoy, you might consider the paid version sooner rather than later.

The app is VERY simple to use. Just search for the video you’d like to watch. Then tap on the red download icon in the upper right hand corner.

When you would like to see the videos that you have downloaded, and/or watch them offline, just tap the “cached” button in the middle of the row at the bottom of the screen.

Photo Skitch Document-7

McTube for YouTube Pro is $1.99 in the iTunes store. There is a free one available as well.

I used Lucy in the Chocolate Factory for the example, above. In case you’re interested in actually taking a little trip down memory lane and watching it, I’ll include it, here. Enjoy!

15 thoughts on “Watch YouTube Videos Offline on your iPhone or iPad

  1. This is great, I really need this app even though I am not great tech person (more of a Luddite actually -:)), You Tube videos are something I really love watching!
    Thank you for another great tech tip!

  2. I don’t know how you have time to do the things you do. I don’t even have time to always follow your advice, but this one…I’m going to have to try during my next trip! 🙂 Marsha 🙂

  3. Jim says:

    The caching feature in McTube has been removed! Every App I’ve looked at today, MAY 19, 2013, has had it’s ability to download Youtube removed, per orders from Apple & Youtube. I need an app that can download fascinating Youtube lectures, so my students can be enlightened by science demonstrations I’ve cut & pasted into Keynote. I don’t want to download boring pop music videos or boring pop movies manufactured like sausage in recent years. They are very uninteresting compared to a stimulating Yale University physics lecture! I’m no threat to ‘Lil Wayne’s income stream. Justin Bieber is leaving nothing on the table when I’m playing. They can both remain big balla, shot calla’s for all I care. Let us adults download for the common good! These American kids need powerful lectures with video or they’re instantly asleep. Help me, Mr. Wizard!

    • Oh, no! This happened to the last app I had found for caching, as well. This is horrible news. I agree with you completely. There are powerful things on YouTube that NEED to be shared with others …. but to do that the videos need to be viewed offline. Darn, darn!!! This is THE feature that most people are looking for. I guess it’s a legal thing? Argh. Please, if you find a way to save YouTube videos, I hope you’ll share with me, and I will certainly do the same. Thanks so much for this alert.

    • The on-again off-again cache feature of this (and other) youtube apps is extremely frustrating. But as of now, this ability is working on my app. When you are watching a youtube video, look to the upper right hand corner and tap that red button. Then wait. It takes some time to download. If you look in the cache folder and it’s not there…. then I just don’t know. The only other suggestion would be to make sure the app is updated. Good luck! It is a wonderful feature.

  4. RICKY says:

    I just downloaded the app (the free version) but then I couldnt find the upper right hand corner and that red button, I always want to download videos and watch them offline. or do I have to upgrade to PRO version so that I can have the cache folder?

    • The upper right hand corner button only appears when you are watching a video. Did you try that? Honestly, I find it very frustrating, because the functionality seems to fluctuate often. As of this moment, my cache ability is working fine on the Pro version. HOWEVER, when I look at their description, although I see it says “watch later”, I don’t see the red button on their photos. It seems that they put it on and take it off periodically. Probably due to legal issues? I can not recommend that you buy it, because I don’t know that it will be working. Sigh. Frustrated, here!

  5. Photo_Mom says:

    As of today it is not letting me download videos. I’ve tried several apps and none will let me download youtube videos. You’d think youtube would simply create an app so users could see more of their videos – offline! A lot of us only have to time to watch videos while we are on the road and not on wi-fi. Thanks for your review.

    • Oh no! Not again! I completely agree with you …. we want NEED to watch videos offline. Geez. I’ll go take a look at this (again!) later today. It’s hard to keep up. Thanks for letting me know.

I'd love to hear what you think!

