An App that Enlightens You of the History that Surrounds You: History Here

Screen shot 2013-03-19 at 11.21.05 AMUp front I apologize to my readers outside of the US, because this app is USA-only. But maybe maybe maybe there is a similar one for near you. I hope so, because this is special.

The app displays a map of where-you-are OR a location-you-choose, and then displays little markers highlighting spots where History occurred.

Awesome! I tried it locally and was amazed to find some places to explore within a few miles from my home. Daniel Boone’s birthplace? Who knew?

Then I typed in a zip code from the Jersey shore and the following screen popped up. All those red markers are places of some historical significance. Wow, right?

Photo Skitch Document-8

Tap on any of those red markers and the history is revealed:

Photo Skitch Document-9

Another tap will describe the site in more detail, and usually gives you a link to the site’s actual webpage.

Photo Skitch Document-7

Developers promise constant updates, adding new points of interest all the time.

History Here is available for both the iPad and the iPhone and is FREE in the iTunes store.

Screen shot 2013-03-06 at 7.27.02 PM

17 thoughts on “An App that Enlightens You of the History that Surrounds You: History Here

  1. WOW! This is great for when I go on photo shoots. This app makes it easy to find subjects to photograph without looking in several different places. You have brighten my day and now I am full of excitement for my spring and summer outings. THANK YOU!

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  2. Very cool! My husband will love this. Shhhh. Don’t tell him you found this out. 😉 (kidding. I’ll give you all the credit) THANKS!

    • I love finding little known places. Once when my son was only 8 or 9, we drove WAY out of our way so he could see “Millard Fillmore’s Birthplace”. We found it. A picnic bench and a flag in the middle of no-wheres-ville. 🙂

  3. Woo, that’s really good…. This app could ‘make me turn’; ‘cept it’s not here in Oz…
    Kathy, (and I really mean this)…! If this app is available in Oz I’ll ask my partner (K) to download it… He has an android..!
    Wow; this is really cool…. 🙂

  4. How simply fascinating… I could imagine what a challenge it would be to do one for Europe with all their goings-on for centuries while the US was still clean unspoiled and empty!!

    • So very true!!! Some of the “historical” points that are suggested are really “points of interest”. For instance, the Crayola factory is listed near me. I guess you could argue that it is ‘historical’, but certainly not in the same class as a soaring medieval cathedral!

I'd love to hear what you think!

