Road Tripping with a Smart Phone and App Assistance using I-95 and iExit

Screen shot 2013-04-15 at 8.51.22 AMIt’s always fun to head out on a road trip, and these days road trips are better than ever with helpful apps on your iPhone (not to mention the awesome ability to map and google and yelp as you go!).

When I think back to road-tripping in the pre-smartphone days, I remember lots of stabs-in-the-dark. Should we stop at this exit to eat? What if the next one has something better? And, as luck would have it, the next exit usually did have the place we should-have would-have loved. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

While I was missing-in-action here in the blogosphere, I was on the road, iPhone in hand. Maneuvering unfamiliar streets was never easier. A quick look at a google map shows you exactly where you are without trying to get coordinates via street signs and/or landmarks. Should we eat at this unknown-to-us neighborhood restaurant? A quick look at the reviews on Yelp has never let me down.

And as for zipping down the highways I used two apps and they both made the experience so much better than the ‘blind drive’ of years ago.

I-95 Exit Guide:

Screen shot 2013-04-15 at 8.21.41 AMThis is a marvelous road app. I-95 is the main corridor up and down the east coast of the USA, and anyone who has traveled in this half of the country has spent time on 95. This app is set up beautifully. When you first tap on the app, you see a grouping of icons for each state that 95 passes through.

Photo Skitch Document

Tap on the state you need, and you will see listed (for every exit) all of the gas stations, restaurants, hotels and more. This is priceless! As we were zipping along, we could plan to stop in, say, a half hour, and I could look ahead in this app to decide which exit would be best for our needs. And in my experience, (although this app has not been updated in a while) it never let us down.

Photo Skitch Document-1

iExit:

Screen shot 2013-04-15 at 8.25.53 AM This app is helpful for all the US interstates in general. It is very different from the I-95 app. The I-95 app is like looking at a paper book, because the information is all contained there regardless of whether you are on the internet or not. This app, iExit, is locating data as you go. It determines your location, and gathers information to tell you what is up ahead. This app is not as accurate as I-95, but I found it extremely helpful for the times we were on various interstate highways. It will be a keeper on my iPhone. (I apologize for the screenshot of their screenshot, but since I am not on an interstate at the moment, the app will not (obviously) show me a screen.)

Screen shot 2013-04-15 at 8.25.32 AM

I-95 is 99ยข in the iTunes store and a must-have if you are driving 95.

iExit is currently 99ยข in the iTunes store and I wouldn’t take a long drive without it.

12 thoughts on “Road Tripping with a Smart Phone and App Assistance using I-95 and iExit

    • Abbey, although you probably have all your stops mapped out from experience, I believe you will still find these helpful. For instance, at one exit we chose a particular restaurant from the app, and that restaurant was not visible from the highway (no monster sign!). So without the app, we wouldn’t have known that it was there. These apps are a great help for road-trippers like you!

  1. So good to have you back, SC, and with so much great info for us, too. I wonder if these apps work on an older iPhone. My upcoming trip to San Diego means I can’t upgrade mine yet, but I’d love to try these out. And frankly, Exit 121, Wilson, Greenville looks like a destination in itself. Where are THOSE kinds of exits when I want them? Oh, wait. I’ll soon be able to look on my handy I-95 Exit Guide and find out!

    Thanks for such a super post!

  2. Technology sure does make life so much easier when you’re in unfamiliar territory (or even familiar territory for that matter), I remember, when I was a kid, mom pulling out a map the size of the car and turning it upside down and side ways while trying to pass dad a boiled egg sandwich and pour tea from the flask – all at the same time ๐Ÿ™‚

    • You paint a great picture! I can “see” you all in your car, struggling with maps and sandwiches. ๐Ÿ™‚
      But it is so true. I’ve road-tripped both “with” and “without” and “with” is much much better!

  3. I love my iphone! I remember travel before iphone. Even with the iphone, if you don’t know how to use it correctly, or if it takes you the wrong way – which has happened, travel is difficult sometimes. But nothing compared to the “old days.”

I'd love to hear what you think!

