Weekend Distraction: Stroll through the National Gallery (London) on your iPad and iPhone

Photo Skitch Document-12This is special. Really special. No bells or whistles. Nothing to solve. No villains to capture or chase. Just pure 100% enjoyment.

This is an awesome app that lets you enjoy the art at the National Gallery in London without having to leave your comfy chair.

Photo Skitch Document-16There is a free and a paid version, and I am going to use the London Gallery (free version) on my iPad for the samples I show here. The paid version of this app is basically the same as the free one except that it has a LOT more art (1600!) and a LOT more music.

The interface is simple and clean. The art speaks for itself.

When you open the app, you see a page like the one below. Choose your century and lose yourself in the art of the times. Also notice on the bottom left side of the screen, in addition to sorting by century, you can also sort by Genre or by Name.

Photo Skitch Document-14

Scroll through the paintings. They look gorgeous on the iPad. And if you would like, you can listen to some included classical music as you browse (several selections are included on the free version, many more on the paid one).

Any action you wish to take is clearly visible on the edges of your screen. Tapping the star in the upper right corner marks the painting as a “favorite”. The HD in the lower center gives you the option of downloading an HD version of the painting you are viewing.

Photo Skitch Document-13

Touching the action arrow in the lower left hand corner brings up a menu so that you can share the painting in several ways, or save it to your own camera roll. By saving it to the camera roll, you can use any painting as wallpaper for your lock screen or home screen on your iPad or iPhone. 🙂

Photo Skitch Document-11

National Gallery, London HD free in the iTunes store

National Gallery, London HD full version is $1.99 in the iTunes store

22 thoughts on “Weekend Distraction: Stroll through the National Gallery (London) on your iPad and iPhone

  1. Ooooh, I love it! I want it! I will HAVE it! And I think I’ll spring the buck-ninety-nine for the works. I love art, and having access to these beauties will be divine. I’m going to look for the other two galleries, as well. Erin was taken to the Louvre once, when she was modeling for an artist here in Orlando. He tooks LOTS of pictures of her there, so I feel like it’s a special place to me, as well, even though I’ve never been. You find the BEST stuff, SC!! Thanks!

    • I know what you mean about time. So much to see and do! My to-read lists are long, then there are home projects, places to go, things to see, friends to share time with …. oh my. My to-do lists are everywhere. 48 hours in a day sounds like a good plan! Let me know, please, when you figure it out. 🙂

  2. Daniela says:

    It is me again -:)! Just letting you know that I have nominated you for ‘The Word Press Family Award’. If you choose to participate all the ‘rules and regulations’ are to be find here: http://wp.me/p2v1s2-Q5

    Take Care,
    Daniela

    • Thank you, Daniela! I am honored and grateful. I’m a bit (a LOT) behind on awards, but even if I don’t get to it for a while, know that I am delighted that you thought to share this with me. 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

