How to Set Bookmarks on your iPad

As part of my month-long anniversary series, some posts will include information covered previously. Hopefully this way new readers get to see things they missed and older readers might be reminded of things they have forgotten. (This “forgetting” thing happens to me, too!)

photo credit: wikipedia

photo credit: wikipedia

I use “bookmarks” on my MacBook all the time, and back in the early days of using my iPad, I greatly missed this feature. I soon learned, however, that you can bookmark on your iPad, and it is easy to do.

(You can also set bookmarks on your iPhone, however it works differently than the iPad, so another post will be dedicated to setting up bookmarks on the iPhone.)

The Bookmark Bar on the iPad is very handy. Once you have it set up, whenever you go to Safari, you will see your favorite websites (ones that you have bookmarked) right across the top of the screen. Just touch one and you will be whisked right to the website.

So let’s set up the Bookmark Bar on the iPad. We start by activating it in Settings.

Here is how to use the Bookmark Bar on your iPad:

Open Settings > Safari. Look for “Always Show Bookmarks Bar” and turn it “on”.

Close settings, and launch your Safari app.

Go to a website that you visit frequently.

Now, touch the sharing arrow up at the very top left of the page. A menu will appear and one of the choices will be “Bookmark”.

Touch “Bookmark” and a new box will pop up. Make sure “Bookmarks Bar” is your choice, and tap “SAVE”.

Photo Skitch Document-8

That’s all there is to it. The next time you launch Safari, look up at the top of the page, (just under the search boxes) and you will see the names of all the websites that you have added to the Bookmark Bar. Tap any of them to zap yourself straight to your favorite website.

Photo Skitch Document-9

Screen shot 2013-03-06 at 7.27.02 PM

9 thoughts on “How to Set Bookmarks on your iPad

    • Good question! I should have included this in the post. 😳
      Just tap the open book symbol up on the top left, and you’ll see a list of your bookmarks. Now slide your finger from right to left over the title of the page you want to delete, and you will see a delete button appear. Tap that button and the bookmark vanishes.

  1. Glad as yet I am not so up to date with Ipads Bookmarks though I do find very useful … 🙂 on the PC but I use them more in the pages of those old fashioned things called Books at the moment! 🙂 🙂

  2. Suemcl says:

    I can’t find anything, anywhere that helps with this: on the top left in Safari I have what looks like a square with an up arrow, and on the right side I have what looks like an open book. I can see all my folders in the left icon only when I try to bookmark something; when I tap the icon on the right it immediately brings up my folders, but they’re not all there! How can I move my folders on the left to the ones on the right? I’m so confused!

    • I believe this is an older post and the whole bookmark thing has changed … as you describe. I’ll link you to my updated post about bookmarks, and I hope this helps you. The newer post is here. Keeping my fingers crossed that this will sort it out for you! 🙂

      • Sue McLaughlin says:

        Well, I see what you’re saying, but I don’t want my favorites bar across the top of my screen (I’ve got too many folders). What’s on the left in the up arrow section, is what I want on the right side. I know this probably doesn’t make much sense. I apologize in advance for confusing things. The only way I can see all my folders is if I try to bookmark something and I get to choose what folder to put it in. On the right side only a few folders show up. So, what I want is to get all the folders on the left (or their contents), over to the right. Does that make any sense? And just to give you the gist of this confusion, when I bookmark this page, it doesn’t appear in the bookmarks on the right. Thanks so much for responding, and I DO love this site and have learned sooooo much already!

        • Oh, dear. I do hear your frustration, and I wish I could give you a clear answer. I don’t understand why your folders are not over on the right. On my iPad, on the right, I tap on Favorites, and there are the folders. Sigh. I wish we could sit down side by side and try to sort it through. My next suggestion would be to go to an Apple store in person and sit down with a “genius”. They are really wonderful. Helpful and friendly. And I guarantee that they will have your issue all sorted out quickly and you’ll leave happy. (I go there, often!) I’m so sorry that I can’t help. Darn!

  3. Sue McLaughlin says:

    Thanks so much for your efforts; I really do appreciate it! Your suggestion to visit an Apple store is a good one–hopefully I can find one up here in rural Maine!

I'd love to hear what you think!

